Help creating our family homestead near Chapel Hill, NC, USA

Country

United States

new host  

Favourited 45 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello Everyone

    Michael, Cindy, Atlas(Dog), Padme(cat), and Sunshine(Gecko) have all recently moved onto 14 acres and are creating our homestead.

    We are also currently looking for thoes who can safely fell trees and have experience doing so

    We are shearing, loping and clearing, we will have fall crops and our orchard happening soon!

    We have our chicken coop(ducks,chickens and guineas)and some of our vegetable and herb garden.

    Two cows and some goats will be joining us in August.

    We are looking for help expanding our gardens and coop, clearing some of the forest, creating pastures and doing general help and gardening, we have a few goals in mind:

    Creating an orchard and a few acres of gardening, some raised beds, a butterfly garden and a few pastures for goats, horses, pigs and a cow or two, we are also going to be building and setting up out solar panels.

    Any artistic projects would also be great additions, interested in learning some Spanish and or a language exchange?

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can stay with us and learn about gardening and self-sufficiency. We would have yoga and anyone is welcome to practice their language skills in either English or Spanish. Experience of learning to build something from the ground up. ( also we are decent cooks!)

  • Help

    Help

    Help us create our homestead with: Animal care, Bread making, Building project, Cooking, Food preservation, Greenhouse maintenance, Harvesting, Help with eco-projects, Irrigation/watering, gardening , Language practice, Planting, Seed saving, Seeding/transplanting,

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have one bedroom/office space with two beds ,and a guest bathroom,we also have tents and hammocks. Currently working on getting a camper!

    Meals will sometimes be had together and groceries will be provided. Cleaning up in the kitchen after you are done is very important, and we try to keep our waste very low.

    Mostly we will have some grains or potatoes lots of veggies, some eggs ( depending on the harvest) and different dinners
    No shoes in the house and we leave everything muddy outside.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live a 7-minute drive from Chapel Hill, there are coffee shops, restaurants bars, and shops. Carrboro and chapel hill are beautiful and very friendly. We also have a pool and mutiple trails to be made around the property.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 924785491442