Enjoy working, having fun and relaxing times in rural France and stay with open and social people from Amsterdam.

Country

France

Favourited 27 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are new here at workaway and hope to encounter people to connect to, with work, fun and life in general. We hope you would like to be our first volunteer(s)?

    Through the years we have built up a lot of experience with being and working with all different kinds of people. We see ourselves as a fun and social couple ( young at heart but also in our early fifties :-), living in the South East part of France. Also living with us is our adorable cat Tommie.

    The village we live in has three families, we are the Dutch and there is a English and a French family. We have a half acre of land and are surrounded by a few farms and looking out on open fields. See the pictures down below. The property has a nice and relaxing atmosphere, with a breathtaking view, sometimes we even have fields full of sunflowers in the summer. There are also some sheds, a small wallnut-orchard and a swimming pool :-)))

    About us... we are two Dutch guys. We live during the spring and summer in France and during the rest of the year in Amsterdam. We like the quiet and nature of rural France and also love the energy and culture of a city as Amsterdam.

    Frank is a theatre-director and actor and Ron is a coach and a creative teacher. We own our own business for 9 years now, organizing workshops (improvisation, yoga, sculpting, painting, drawing, photography and singing) on our property during the summerholidays.

    We do not look for professionals for our business. We are looking for enthousiastic people who want to help us with different tasks around and in the house.

    There is a garden that needs maintenance, we have several woodwork plans that needs attention and also inside the house there are painting and decorating jobs to be done.

    There are good connections from trainstation and airport to our property. Trainstation Montmoreau is nearby, about a 7 minutes drive. The Airport Bordeaux or Airport Bergerac is one or ons and a half hours drive away. We can pick you up if you don't have a car.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will enjoy the peace and quiet at our property. The energy of the place itself calms you and brings you at ease.

    We are easygoing people and like to interact and communicate on more then one level. Next to humour and making fun during work and after work, we are open to real talks about everything in life.

    We can show you nice places in the area, from small villages to bigger cities. From cultural activities to just having fun in shopping.

    During your stay you can learn...
    - (better) Dutch and/or English
    - improving painting, drawing or sculpting
    - improving your acting or improvisation skills

  • Help

    Help

    Garden - there is always a lot to be done on half of an acre of land. The normal weading ofcourse, trimming bushes and trees, mowing the grass. If you have green fingers ( a saying in the Netherlands, meaning you love plants) then let us know and come work in our garden.

    Building - restauration of the wooden deck of the veranda and small stairs, building a new deck next to the pool, scraping and painting the shutters. If you have building/renovation skills we would love for you to apply.

    Indoor - painting walls, windows, doors and ceilings of the hall and rooms. Do you like small renovations inside the house? Apply and we get in contact with you asap.

    We are looking for people who love to work with their hands, can work together and enjoy new experiences. Age or gender is not an issue. Enthusiasm is very welcome :-)

    You will work for 5 hours a day, during the week. We talk and decide which hours are the best for us and for you. In your free time you can relax at the pool or get creative with sculpting, drawing or something else. Let us know what you would like to do.

    Note: Our workshopholidays start at 10/7 till 17/8. So when you apply, let us know if you are interested as a volunteer during these weeks aswell. Sometimes we have volunteerspots, for 5 hours a day, we can offer you.

    These workshopweeks are different:
    - you will be in an inviroment with guests (max. of 20) who are on holiday. The atmosphere is great and joyful but the location is not always calm.
    - you may sleep in a tent instead of indoors.
    - the work is during the morning (8-13) or in the evening (17 - 22).

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Sleeping
    We have a small house next to the main house. It is selfcontained and has anything you need, kitchen, bedroom and bathroom with a bath. There is enough space for 2 persons.

    And when you want your privacy there is an option to live in your own caravan. It has a double bed, a table and sitting area. A real cosy place with a beautiful view.

    Food
    We provide all the meals, but love it when we cook toghether. It is nice to taste food from different cultures, so we love it when you cook as well. It is no must, but when you are able, please do.

    We sometimes eat meat so we consider ourselves like flextarians. We love vegetarian and vegan food, but we are not vegan, but its fine when you are and if you like you can learn us how to cook that way :-)

    Internet
    Acces to internet is available. There is a good connection.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    What to visit
    Aubeterre - lovely village with a beautiful square with bars and restaurants, swimming in or cannooing on the river Drone, visit the underground church and enjoy some festivals in the spring and summer.

    Angouleme - is the city of comics and there is an comic Museum. Also you can visit art in the Modern museum and shop in the shopping centre. Its a nice old city.

    Perigeuex - beautiful and relaxed Medieval citie. Nice atmosphere, markets and shopping centre. Different kinds of festivals in summer.

    Bordeaux - This is a real metropolitan city. A lot to see and enjoy, like every big city it has different areas with different vibes and cultures. We can tell you more if you want.

    What to do
    Vide grenier / brocantes - every weekend there are lots of oppertunities to visit those markets. We can take you there.
    Biking - our neighbour is a very enthousiastic biker and knows all the nice routes for you.
    Hiking/Walking - we have several hiking/walking routes for you to follow.

    Transport
    We have bikes (not suitable for long routes) which you can use to explore the area. Note: it is sometimes a little hilly.
    There is a trainstation nearby from where you can visit some nice cities as Angouleme, Perigeuex or Bordeaux.

    We have a car and can bring you to the trainstation for a destination you wish or to Aubeterre.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 923864334443