Come and explore sunny Nelson at the top of the South Island, New Zealand and lend us a hand around our home.


New Zealand

Favourited 210 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
  • Description


    We are Richard and Carolyn living in sunny Nelson at the top of the South Island. We have the best of both worlds... walking distance to town and the great outdoors on our doorstep. Richard works full-time in mental health and Carolyn runs two home-based businesses...Freelance Graphic design and a small Bed & Breakfast. Carolyn's mother Lorna now lives in the house next door so she is also helping to support her mother (and her lovely Golden retriever, Mandy). Lorna is a very independent 94 year old who ran a dairy farm with her husband for 42 years. She is a big animal lover and has ridden horses all of her life. Her dog Mandy is her faithful companion. Lorna walks Mandy every day but due to problems with her legs, she can only manage a range of about 400m. Lorna still loves to bake for others and cooks her own meals. She is also an artist and still paints as a hobby.
    We are both active and enjoy hiking and cycling. We have a small friendly dog (spaniel/poodle cross) Mia who is always up for a walk in the hills or a run at the beach. Richard and Carolyn are both passionate about cooking and coffee and love growing things in the garden. We have travelled and lived overseas and enjoy meeting people of all cultures and backgrounds. We tend to eat vegetarian or seafood meals.
    Nelson is well known for it's lovely climate, wealth of outdoor activities, incredible arts community and a very positive upbeat atmosphere. We are close to the sea, the bush, the mountains and four beautiful National Parks, the most famous being Abel Tasman National Park. Cycle trails and hiking tracks are everywhere.
    Half of our house is a dedicated Bed and Breakfast suite where we host one group (of up to 3 guests) at a time.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Elderly Companionship
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Both Carolyn and Richard are happy to share their knowledge and experience. Carolyn works from home so will be on hand if there is anything you want help or advice with. She is happy to provide language practice for those travellers wanting to improve their English and she is interested in learning other languages too.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We would like help with gardening, and housework especially when the B & B is busy. We are largely vegetarian, so if you are into cooking those sorts of meals then we are happy to give you the run of the kitchen. Carolyn's elderly mother Lorna has moved into the house next door so she also needs support with similar tasks. We welcome people with DIY skills, as we often have other types of chores on offer such as painting, simple building projects and general maintenance.
    We are looking for mature, independent people who show initiative. We welcome people who are able to work unsupervised, once they have been shown what is required. Outside of help time we hope you will enjoy exploring our beautiful region. If you enjoy cycling you are welcome to use one of our bicycles.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We are able to take single people or couples. Our workawayer guests usually stay at my mothers house next door as it is nice for her to have company and she has a large spare room with a Queensize bed. Meals and work projects are shared between our two homes.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no shortage of things to do in our region and Carolyn and Richard are happy to assist you with planning trips and outings when you want to explore further afield. There is a local bus service as well as tourist bus operators connecting Nelson with Abel Tasman National Park and other local attractions.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 923643528398