Come to Cali Colombia, the Capital Of salsa dancing and help me with daycare

Country

Colombia

Favourited 156 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1201

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Please take into account that this volunteer position required to be 25 years old or above. Thank you!
    Do not apply if you are under 25. Thank you for understanding.


    Im about to travel myself (havent set the date yet) so I hope our dates coincide!!

    Hello, my name is ivonne, I run a small, home-based, day care where we practice the philosophy to respect each child’s individual needs and follow his pace of development and learning skills. We would like children to explore and discover the world and to be ready to step in their formal education in primary schools in any educational system.

    As a home day-care we would like to start practicing montessori and natural learning philosophy.

    Our little school is based on the joy of learning, which comes from discovering and the individual development of each child. This can be possible in a stimulating, warm, happy and homely atmosphere, where each child can work and develop at its own pace.

    This proyect is developed to support parents who are transitioning from home to school and wants to do it in a respectful peaceful way. The numbers of children attending it varies.
    We enroll children to group from 2 to 4 years old.

    Remember this position is for people who is 25 or above thank you!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cali_ Colombia is the capital of salsa dance, here you will be able to explore all this beautifull culture!! there are many places to visit it all depends of your interest. Nature, Art, Beauty Therapies, Health therapies, Salsa Dance, Hiking, swimming, Camping, Food Workshops starting at 25 us dollar perform by great cooks, Horse Riding, Salsa Nights!! Eating A LOT of traditional food. Getting to know the local people. You will love this city so much you will come back soon or never leave! :D
    You will be very appreciated here and I will make your stay very pleaseble!! I will be more than glad to show you around, if time and money for myself allows me to do it. For yourself You will need little money for tourism here in Cali and Colombia in general!

  • Help

    Help

    Right now the main help we need is cooking, and helpin to make the activity bank, lesson plans , curriculum and Nutritional Vegan or vegetrian meal plan for the children.

    Children are not attending right now due to me improving the things mentioned above, the space and other projects.

    We are looking for vegan-vegetarians volunteers or volunteers who would not care to eat like this, 25 years old and above who can help us develop our Natural Learning Project in order to achieve this we would like to have a volunteer who knows Montessori and Waldorf methods, who can teach us about it or give us the best advice on how to start, we would love to have you here and teach as about it!

    We would appreciate voluntears who are confortable around children and love teaching them! so liking them is a must!

    As a play-based Home-natural learning preschool we take free play as the most important work of the child during the age 0-6.

    THIS WOULD BE THE MOST IMPORTANT RIGHT NOW update May 21/2018
    We need help making our activity bank book.
    We need help making lessons plans and curriculum.

    When the nursery opens :
    During the hours of work we expect workawayers to be able to perform activities like reading stories, nursery rhymes, fingerplay and sing songs to children, support or perform circle time, assisting or making projects with children (cooking, art, science, math, reading, foreing language, etc). We also require help with: taking pictures, helping to create class materials, changing diapers/helping children use the bathroom, and playing together with children.

    FOR THE SETTING OF HE NURSERY:
    If you are into painting and graffiti there is a lot of walls to do projects, murals etc!!
    We also want to build a huge vertical garden so this one might be the big project for this year, Please come and helps us start it! 8am-1pm


    IMPORTANT MESSAGE TO TAKE INTO ACCOUNT:
    This is not babysitting, rather educating, Therefore, we need someone who is responsible, respectful, self-sufficient, energetic, with a bright personality who adores children and loves to teach and above all can be committed for the time they promise to be with us. Also we require people who has experience in teaching and can manage groups of children. Please understand that since this position involves childcare, we ask our potential Workawayers to provide two character references (from past volunteer work or employers) and talk with me over facetime. Previous experience with children is a must!

    We expect Workawayers might be able helping also with:
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Breakfast prep for yourself and my 5yrs old daughter
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ (If female) helping my daughter get ready in the morning.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Cooking meals
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Run errands
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Painting walls
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Typing and printing.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Looking for material online
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ General housekeeping like cleaning, dusting, washing patio, sweeping and moping floor, wash dishes, laundry.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English-Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A room with bunk bed and queen mattress on the floor, a small bathroom, shower, toilet, sink. Or shared bathroom with hot shower. Closet also available. Workawayers will share this space. You will be able to use kitchen and its appliances and common areas in the house, washer, hangers, etc..

    Breakfast will be provided and unlimited coffee!!

    Lunch and dinner usually make a contribution to buy and cook the meal of the day. Or you can go out and have delicious local food. We are located close to farmers markets, a lot of home made restaurants, caffeterias, bakery shops, there is a restaurant that you can have lunch for 2.75 dollars and others for 3 dollars. I happened to give lunch before to my last volunteer but now due to me not having kids coming in Im only able to offer Breakfast, sorry about that :(

    You must provide your own toiletries and personal care.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Practice Spanish language, try amazing food and sightseeing. Get involved with locals!! Learn to dance salsa!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 923353197381