Help us organise, small repair and clean our house in preparation for us to sell up in an off grid, rural community in BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/03/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 3 living on 5 acres of certified organic land within a spiritual Hare Krishna 1700 acre off grid community in BC. Saranagati

    We are strict vegetarians, friendly, hard working and enthusiastic to work our land.
    We have a garden, orchard, vermicompost field and apiary.

    We spend our mornings is soft meditation and spiritual discussion and then either work at our little jobs, or on the house or on the farm.

    Our house is a 2600sq foot octagon shaped home with 2.5 levels. Being a farm house, it’s always under construction and we have a few projects underway.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are western Hare Krishnas living off grid in a rural setting. Our community has about 60 residents, lots of kids and a strong youth group (under 40) who gather for sports, Kirtan (chanting with music) and hanging out.

    We meditate, cook, chant and farm.

    You would benefit from experiencing living off the grid and embracing a spiritual atmosphere. Our neighbour has work away guests returning again in a month because they loved it so much. We are firm in our beliefs but very respectful of other traditions and cultures.

    You’ll learn about the ancient Sanskrit texts and Vedic culture.

    We also don’t smoke, drink or so drugs here. It’s a “dry” community.

  • Help

    Help

    We have our house up for sale, which in our community can take years, and we are looking for people to help beautify, organize, weed out and downsize.
    We were a family of 6 and now the older littles have moved away, but left much of their childhood belongings behind.

    We would like help organizing the house, cleaning, handiwork, large scale gardening, renovation, shed building, painting (inside and outside), baking and some vegetarian cooking. We don’t eat meat, fish or eggs.

    We also love the principal of repurposing. Such as, to re build the downstairs bathroom, we would like to use metal roofing for shower walls etc...
    Our community is rural remote and we are 30 minutes from our local town. There’s lots to explore on your downtime - we have a beautiful lake in the Center of our community. Lots of hiking and trail walking.

    We are very friendly and love to have guests :) this is our first time working with this group and we look forward to hearing from you

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Hindi: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have several rooms in our home. 1 double room and 2 single rooms. Potential for another double room.
    We have 1 bathroom and the second needs to be fixed. We have everything to go back in, just need the expertise and time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located “downtown Saranagati” so we’re close to the lake and other people who you will spend time with. You’re welcome to explore our community and come to town with us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 923283388914