Help us to renovate sustainably in Marlborough, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 33 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/11/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Kia ora!

    We're a Danish/English (Kiwi) couple currently doing the kiwi dream - renovating a large old villa on a quarte acre. We’re renovating as sustainably as we possibly can, re-using most building and materials and establishing a large organic vegetable and fruit garden. The house is a large four bedroom villa in sunny Blenheim, Marlborough.

    We're in our early 30's and have travelled as helpers ourselves. When not renovating we're into tramping, snowboarding and adventure motorbiking and generally exploring this beautiful country.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Ian is a builder and Linnea is a Landscape Architect, so both house and garden are being carefully renovated using professional methods. We love sharing knowledge about how to make a good and low-maintenance organic garden, and how to build, renovate and recycle all sorts of materials.

    Aside from the building project, we also love sharing recipes and cooking together. We're currently both trying to learn French, so also welcome any help with that.

  • Help

    Help

    Thanks to some incredible helpers over the last year, our house is nearly finished.

    At the moment we're looking for help with renovating a large pergola, painting a fence and weeding our spray-free lawn. The garden very large and there's always lots of small garden projects to choose from. This could be pruning, mulching, sowing and general landscaping. Tell us what your skills are, and we'll find something that suits. We would never expect anyone to do any chores they don't feel comfortable doing, and we will give proper training for any task that you might want to do.

    We expect four hours of work everyday, but how and when you place them, is up to you. Linnea works two days a week, and will be home to work with you on the other days. We're also happy for you to be flexible with how you plan your hours. A good arrangement is to work 8 hours with us Saturday and Sunday, and then have two days off during the week.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our home is our project and we would love to share it with you as our helping guest. We like to eat dinner together and would appreciate 4-5 hours of work a day in exchange for accommodation and breakfast + dinner. We expect that you do you part in cleaning up after dinner and keeping he house clean. You will be staying in one of two newly renovated rooms and share common spaces in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Marlborough is an incredibly underrated tourist destination. We're nestled between three different mountain ranges and the Marlborough sounds. There's heaps of good tramping in the area, lots of good wineries and an amazing range of activities in the sounds.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have unlimited fiber and a spare office. Currently no one works from home, but that changes with the COVID situation.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Large off-street parking space on our gravel driveway

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day



Host ref number: 921992327145