Help me with projects at my house near Joshua Tree, California, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 353 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1065

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am female, photographer, Marintime adventurer, cook, have a place I am currently renovating my base camp in the high desert in California near joshua tree. It has 2 bedrooms 2 separate bathrooms and a trailer all on 5 rural acres with rabbits, coyotes and cactus. It has a HOT TUB, wood burning stove fireplace and a lot of good vibes.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about the desert culture the anthropology of the desert.
    I can guide you on hikes, the lesser non tourist parts of the desert where you will experience the magic of desert characters - mavericks, drifters, dreamers and doers shaping a contemporary American west.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for help with the following:
    Building an outdoor toilet and help with updating an older indoor shower and putting in a new one.
    Landscaping design (mid century modern)
    Computers / internet setup/ management

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Poor German/ french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I will provide you with wholesome meals and your own private remodeled trailer - there is a hot water outdoor shower and we share a toilet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is much to do in the area besides the joshua tree national park . A thriving art and music scene hiking right outside the backyard-!: hot springs are 25 minute dive away

    Things to do:
    Joshua tree national park
    Giant rock
    Integratron
    Gods way love
    Pappys and Harriet's
    Desert hot springs ($3 Tuesdays)
    Swimming pool Palm Springs (I go often)
    Joshua tree saloon
    Noah purifoy art installation
    The palms brunch in wonder valley for desert characters and cheap prices
    Sky village swap meet (downtown yucca valley till 2:00pm every weekend)
    The bijou for old time unique cinema experience (you will need to call)
    Day trips - Salton sea/ Palm Springs/ cab axon shopping outlets/big bear lake/ amboy crater/
    There are open mic nights on Monday and Tuesday nights at the saloon and pappys
    Bowling is a $ a game (please check) on Wednesdays at yucca valley bowling
    If art is your thing there are a number of interesting galleries (the glass outhouse / wonder valley) and there is always an art opening going on somewhere
    Photographers - so many subjects and stories to shoot
    If meditation is your thing there are 2 monasteries in the area and I hold a meditation evening at my place every other Tuesday followed by a vegetarian potluck


    Some more information to keep the good vibes going:

    Television

    I do not own a tv, but I do have a projector to watch movies (have a small collection) on - if you use the projector and watch movies please ensure you return all movies to the right DVD case and pack up and put away the projector after use.

    Transportation:

    There is public transport within walking distance but you will need to research the routes etc.
    I would prefer that you have your own transportation as the house is rural. However if it's the right skillset I don't mind lending my car (very occasionally for small distance trips) but I do expect you to top up the gas tank to full and keep it clean.
    If you would like to take longer roadtrips / day trips (Salton sea etc)/ off-road - there are rental car companies you can use in the area.

    House expectations:

    Please clean up after yourself at mealtimes, and help with putting away dishes. (I do have a dishwasher which unfortunately does not load rinsed dishes and unload itself ;)
    Please keep couches/common/living areas neat and tidy and pick up after yourself
    Please be mindful of energy usage and turn off the lights etc when not in use
    Please assist me in deep cleaning (sweeping /mopping/ dusting/cleaning toilets&bath etc) the house once every 10 days.
    At the end of your workaway stay I expect the room to be as clean as it was presented to you and that you wash all linens(bed sheets, pillow cases, towels, bathmats), clear and clean all trash bins, clean the bathroom and sink, and ensure the room is swept and mopped.

    Work expectations:

    We will work out a list together and I would like that all tools are cleaned and put away in its proper place at the end of the working day or at the end of the task (whichever comes first)

    Social and expectations:

    I will provide 2 meals a day , however if we agree to go out to a bar or restaurant I expect you to pay for your own food and drinks.
    I will gladly introduce you to the local scene and encourage you to go check things out for yourself as well.

    I can also show you some amazing out of the national park wilderness areas out here and would be happy to go hiking, swimming, with you.

    I have a friend who has a Cessna if your interested in going on a desert flight - i can arrange it, if you pay the cost of gas for the flight! (Works out to around $100 and cheaper if there are more of you to split costs - max 3 at a time)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 919585648377