Welcoming home in Wrexham, Wales, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 310 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/03/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1850

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    (Please read full profile).


    Myself (from Cymru) and partner Brian (from Catalonia and living here for around three years now) are welcoming in workawayers for 2 hours a day help in exchange for all bills (gas, water, electric, wifi, basic toiletries) and accommodation.

    We do this mostly to assist travellers to have somewhere friendly and comfortable, safe and warm to stay - and for us to have that extra assistance that can be so beneficial to create a welcoming and comfortable living and workspace and, where it times well, to have some extra assistance with local community project.

    Pretty please, to save time, can you read the whole profile to see if this place is good for you and please answer the questions on here in your request? This is recommended for all hosts you contact as it indicates respect, consideration and care.

    We live on the outskirts of Wrexham town centre so almost everything is close by - the shops, the cinema and also local nature is close too. The community here is quite lovely, with a blossoming music scene and art scene if you know where to look, and am happy to share these with you.

    Myself and Brian work with Complementary Healthcare in a home clinic and at events around the UK.

    So, the questions if you could answer on the message

    1. What attracts you to this workaway?

    2. In what way would you most like to help? (please see other information for what assistance is needed)

    3. Are you ok with working just 2hrs a day, 6 days a week for bills and accommodation and so providing your own food? *

    4. Are you ok to only bring food products in the home that are free from animal products? (i.e. vegan ).
    This is important due to both allergies and ethics - what people eat outside the home is up to them, this is just a little haven in this house. Allergy reasons are obvious but If you wish to learn about the ethics, I haven't watched them but I hear films 'Earthlings', 'Forks over knives' 'Farm to Fridge' and Cowspiracy' are good. I have watched 'Game Changers' which I enjoyed.

    5. Are you a smoker or non-smoker? This is important to allergies, even when smoking outside brings the residues and smeells into the house and furnishing loads and prefer to minimise this.

    6. Are you able to work on your own, be self-motivated and self-disciplined in doing so and see what needs to be done and do it or do you need lots of supervision and guidance? This is important as, because we are so busy, this is what we need for this offer to be workable and sustainable.

    7. Are you ok if we are too busy to spend much time with you? This is important as while ideally we would spend more with you if you wanted, we have so much work on at the moment it's not too likely. Or do you need people that you can spend lots of time with?

    We get a lot of requests and, while it may take a little time initially, answering these questions saves us all a lot of time in the long run, and helps us see if we are right for each other.

    *We work out the 2hrs a day for accommodation/rent, water, gas, electric, WiFi, council tax, toilet roll, toiletries, washing powder, washing up liquid, handwash etc like this:
    a) Renting own room in a house on a long term contract: (not including deposit) £80 a week, plus gas, water electric, WiFi, council tax, toilet roll, toiletries, washing powder, washing up liquid etc: £105 or more per week
    b) Renting our accommodation on a short term basis as we do to paying guests just over £20 a night: £140 a week
    c) Renting a hotel or other guesthouse: £30 or more a night: £210 a week
    So working 2 hours a day, 6 days a week - 12 hours. So would be the equivalent of either a) £8.75 an hour b) £11.67 an hour or c) £17.50 an hour depending.
    It's not about money of course, and you are not in the standards of a hotel! It's just that we have been quite flexible with people work and some have taken advantage of us a bit and not kept to their agreement. We much prefer people to be self-disciplined, so thought it might help to see it in a financial way. The people we have written reviews for have been amazing by the way, so if we are still offering this opportunity, these amazing people are why!
    This two hours a day option also gives you the opportunity to explore the area a bit more and even find an additional paid job if you wanted. We think it's a fair deal, if you do too and like what we offer, please apply :)

    Also, there's zero curfew and you will be most welcomed and encouraged to feel at home. You will have your own room.
    You can also borrow the bike here to get around, lots of places are easily accessible on foot. Cinema, art gallery is about 10-15 minutes walk, streams and trees about 10-15 minutes walk, supermarkets 2-5 minutes walk.

    Usually just one workawayer is possible, but working on being able to host two.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I think our references on this site give some ideas - it depends on your interests and how much you would like to do, and what we are doing when you visit.

    Previous workawayers have spoken about improving their english skills, experiencing community art, music, nature, meeting and working with and for local community etc.

  • Help

    Help

    Chores that is so good to have help with includes:
    Assisting keep and make the house and garden be in beautiful shape
    Cleaning and tidying kitchen, living area and the rest of the house - brilliant cleaners are well loved here - I love a pristine house but I'm not so amazing at achieving it!
    DIY - often bits and bobs to do
    Gardening
    Growing food with us (weeding, sowing, planting, mulching etc)
    Decluttering
    and similar tasks.
    Could also be:
    Assisting with a local community gardening project.
    Preparing food/cooking,

    When you apply, it would be great if you could share which of these you are happy to do. Happily we get a lot of offers from workawayers, and it would be great to make sure that the work needed fits with what work people wish to do here.

    This place would suit most someone who is:
    Self-motivated, self-disciplined
    Can work independently a lot
    Is happy working on their own (as well as with others, but will be often be on your own)
    Can just see what needs doing and just do it as well as having a little guidance on what needs doing.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Between us: English, Spanish, Catalan, some Cymraeg

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is a room in our house that is on the outskirts of the town centre.

    You are very welcome to make yourself at home. Best compliment is for you to do so.
    There is no curfew on when you have to be in - you can stay out as late as you like (we are in walking distance of the town centre).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are so many beautiful places to see Erddig, Bersham, Nant Mill, Minera mountain, Llangollen, Pontcysllte Aquaduct, Horseshoe Pass, Ty Mawr, Alyn Waters with buses to many of these places.

    Undegun and Ty Pawb are great art galleries with great events. Live Rooms also have some great gigs.

    Wrexham Community Choir every Tuesday in term time is great.

    There are some great live music gigs that happen too in Wrecsam that you may enjoy.

    The local college do free english lessons in term time which is great. The university also do free Cymraeg lessons.

    Liverpool, Manchester and Snowdonia are quite close too to visit.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2 hours a day for free accommodation, gas, water, electric, internet etc

Me (Katherine) and Brian - happy to host you - we met and fell in love through Workaway - have been together around three years thanks to this!
Brian and Me - happy to host you - we met and fell in love through Workaway! :)
Workawayer Magdalena helping out at our Art Gallery
Workawayer Lea at local community art gallery Undegun event.
Adrian at the tree planting day.
Opportunities to volunteer

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)















Host ref number: 918936367313