Help on a coconut permaculture farm in Kampot, Cambodia

Country

Cambodia

Favourited 45 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    78.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Phanat lay and my family and I have a permaculture based farm. (Mom) ly quach and (father) sokhom. Started in 2017 We are based in the United States but setup our Coconut 🥥 farmstead in Kampot. We grow a variety of plants and tress with a ever growing collection and would love for other people to come help and join us. We are planting new orchards every year and in the works of putting in durian and mangosteen this 2020 monsoon season. Currently planted out about 2 ¹/² of coconuts that are fruiting and intercroped with different fruit trees. Tha basics like mangos to soursop, guava, jackfruit, limes, sugar cane, custard apple, milk fruit, grapefruit, passion fruit and many edible herbs and ornamental for cooking and enjoyment.
    Surrounded by small mountain we are about 21 km north of kampot city into the countryside of agricultural area.
    We also do charity work with the community and are in process of building a school playground for the local kids at the moment.
    We have power from the grid but no wifi. Cell signal avaliable

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Teaching

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoy cooking with whats gathered on the farm and have the main ingredients for almost all khmer dishes.
    Also raise our own chickens and have fish from the river collected by locals or ourselves.
    We collect propagate clone and seed start many of our tropical plants and want to teach the skills to others who would like to learn. Our farm provides a place with a hands on feel of what its like to live work with nature on a working farm in cambodia. With Mix of old and modern techniques our farm stands out from all the farms around and provide a model for locals and a place for visitors to practice and experiment in an environment that has yet to be widspread in cambodia.

  • Help

    Help

    Some larger project right now:
    We are currently looking for help with cloning our bamboo and makeing new starts.
    We also have a nursery that is important and needs help looking after.

    And have four dogs that need to be fed:]

    We have staff on site for labor that will show u alot of the daily farm activitys but not all required as cloneing and care for the plant starts is a main focus thats valuble and provides alot of learning.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Khmer: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are a young farm with basic amenities with a large simple khmer hut and also have built a small brick home and bathroom with large kitchen in construction atm . We Will provide cooked communal lunch and dinner. As breakfast we have but don't usually cook. We Recommended to bring some personal food items and ingredients you prefer for convenience since we are out of town. Or can be requested ahead of time if u need help finding. As ordering delivery items may take 24 hours.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We do not currently have wifi but get internet connection.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 918497165194