Organic Garden Stay in the Picturesque South West Australia!

Country

Australia

Favourited 8 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/08/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I are both part-time school teachers and are looking for extra sets of hands to help around our beautiful property. We are surrounded by State Forrest which lies 10 minutes from the fruit growing region of Australia's South West (Donnybrook).

    Noel (my husband) is a Bible teacher at a Christian school in the city of Bunbury and he enjoys model building, fishing and a visual arts in his spare time. Joss (myself) teaches little people (5-year olds) part time at the same school and works hard to maintain/feed the family from her own organic, semi self-sufficient garden. Maple (dog) is the newest member of the Barnes clan, continues to delight us with her antics and will make sure you feel welcome too. Although we are a family of six we are now 'empty nesters' with our adult children having flown the coup.

    We live on a 5 acre property, half of which is natural Australian bush, home to native wildlife including resident kangaroos and wildflowers. The other half contains two houses, a studio/shed and a large organic permaculture garden. The garden consists of a fruit orchard (I've got everything), veggie patches, a herb bed and chook (chicken) runs.

    We look forward to hosting anyone who would like to share our life with us and learn more about the permaculture experience.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Work-away's can expect to have an authentic Australian rural experience. This will include shared knowledge of Australian wildlife and the exchange of Australian culture. Another advantage will be the learning of new skills and understandings that may be transferable to future work-aways. During your stay you will gain a greater knowledge of organic gardening and the methods used to ensure healthy and rich food production.
    In your email to us, please specifically mention your favorite fruit so we know that you have read our whole profile.

  • Help

    Help

    The main help we are looking for is general upkeep of our houses and gardens, this may include;
    Houses - minor repairs, gutter cleaning, sweeping, mowing, cooking, making jam, house chores and fruit bottling.
    Garden - planting, composting, weeding, mulching, harvesting, pruning.
    Other - animal care (looking after chickens and playing with the dog), occasional building projects.
    We would love to host someone who enjoys cooking and is willing to cook for us at least twice a week.
    We don't currently have any major projects or tasks, but this might change during your stay.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a house with 5 bedrooms, two toilets and one shared bathroom, one kitchen and two shared living areas. You will have your own private bedroom during your stay and share the rest of the facilities with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Within this region there are many tourist attractions which consist of wineries, breweries, beautiful beaches, bush walks, secluded cafes, art galleries and much much more. Transport is limited due to our location, but arrangements can be made.
    We are a family of Christian faith who respect the views of others. We are willing to share our faith, but will not impose our views on anyone else. Mutual respect is important to us.
    We are a cigarette and drug free property.

    Thank you for taking the time to review our profile and we hope you found what you are looking for!
    Joss and Noel

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 917196399747