Enjoy life on beautiful Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Country

Virgin Islands (British)

Favourited 112 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    314

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Hendrik, most people call me Hank. I have been living on Tortola for more than 25 years. I had several jobs and buisinesses on the island and I have build three houses on the island.

    Last year I was about to finish my last house and getting ready to retire when hurricane Irma came along. Like most other people on the island it took me a couple of months to get back on track.\par
    Now I have slowly started to rebuild my house and helping others doing the same. I am involved in a lot of projects and I can always use some help with some of these projects.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I like to travel a lot and love meeting other travelers. I have done many bicycle trips, sail trips, and road trips all over the world. I like to share my knowledge, skills and stories with others and I look forward to learning from you as well. When I am on the island, I try to enjoy life as much as possible. I like to take people out fishing or going for a bicycle ride. I love cooking and growing my own food. I am passionate about preparing healthy food in traditional ways. I have build my own pizza and bread oven and I smoke the fish I catch myself.

  • Help

    Help

    The help I need is mostly construction work, but I could also use some help with chores around the house and the garden. On the island I work as an electrician, so if you any experience in this field I could use your help. I am involved in a lot of different projects so we can probably find something for you to do related to your skills and interests.

    The help will probably vary a lot and not a day will be the same. Some days we might take it easy and only work a couple of hours in the morning and go fishing in the afternoon. Other days we might have to work a bit longer to finish a job. I am very flexible and I don't have time pressure, so most of the time there will be a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, English, German and a little Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation for the volunteers will be a simple private bedroom with two beds in the house where I am temporary living where I have a bathroom, electricity, washing machine and hopefully soon internet. There is an option to have some more privacy and live and look after one of my houses depending on your comfort standards.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will have plenty of time to explore the island. You can borrow one of my bicycles or my kayak. It is also common and easy to hitchhike on the island.

    If you are staying with me you can expect good and healthy meals.

    So if you want to stay on Tortola for a while and do you think you can help me out with my projects don't hesitate to send me a message.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 917173766899