Enjoy helping us out in Otago, New Zealand


New Zealand

Favourited 279 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    We have no availability at the moment as our current helpers need to stay with us at the current time. If interested helping us over winter please contact us now with your availability and interest from June and we can plan ahead for that. I won't reply to anyone who does not meet the criteria I have asked for below as we are very busy and we get a lot.of unsuitable requested. Please read all of the info I provide before asking to join us. Thank you.

    We welcome people over 25 to help us out during the winter and spring months while it is dark both sides of our working day. We would prefer that you take a seperate late afternoon or evening paid job in nearby Dunedin evenings and just help us out in the mornings for about three hours. This allows us all to have time to ourselves; you during the day and us in the evenings and we can enjoy a couple of evenings or the weekends together.

    We have four horses. We are offering more of a house share opportunity, where you help us out in the mornings while we are at work by walking the two dogs, letting the horses out, schooling and hacking the horses, cleaning the stables and prepping the hay for the evenings and anything else you would like to help with. We treat you like family/housemates and expect the same in return, trust is high on our priorities. Horse and animal lovers are a must. Experience in horse ownership and riding is essential and empathy definately is. Interacting with the horses offers a lot of learning experiences that will benefit any horseperson, they all have their quirks that you will learn so much from. Ideal for people wanting a career with animals or horses or if own your own and are missing them. We often have lots of equine medical challenges that you will learn from. We have 2 lovely dogs that love walks and we have many other animals too. So ideal for a couple/2 friends (one can be the horse person the other can do other tasks if that suits) or if both are competent horse people the great or a mature independent person.

    This option for you to take paid seperate part time work ideally afternoons and evenings in nearby city Dunedin, means we can between us ensure all the tasks here get done but have our own space.

    We don't eat in the evenings as we choose to eat lunchtimes at work, so while there is bread, milk, eggs and other food available so we expect you to cook for yourself.

    PLEASE BE AWARE we only accept people who are experienced riders to an intermediate or above level, our horses are not school or trekking horses - are generally complex and can spook, shy, buck and bolt. One horse is focussed on dressage and another is an Kaimanawa wild pony that we are training in equitation and cowboy challenge. The other two are more placid and are hacks but still have quirks. You must be under 65kg to ride two of the horses.

    We offer when possible the opportunity for people to learn and practice natural horsemanship, ride western style, dressage and ride our horses out on the beach and forest tracks as well as in the arena (if we are comfortable you will be safe yourself and that our horses will be safe and ridden by competent people).

    We use different therapies on the horses and dogs so this is a great opportunity for people to learn them.

    We do expect our helpers to generally help around the house, garden and yards as required. We want really empathetic people working with our horses as we believe in our horses wanting to do what we want them to do because they want to do it rather than force/bully them to do it.


  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is volunteer help in return for accomdation and a safe home environment and not paid work. Safety of you and our animals is a priority and we will only let experienced people who we have assessed ride the horses unsupervised. This is an opportunity to learn new life skills, enjoy the safety of a family environment have plenty of your own space and time to yourself and spend time with amazing animals with heaps of character.

  • Help


    This will include looking after the horses which includes feeding them, picking up poo, grooming, moving the electric fences around for grazing. Walks with the dogs. May also include feeding the chickens, and the sheep. Some other tasks can include helping us to clear areas that we are landscaping, planting trees around the arena, weeding and spraying the arena, helping build fences around it, painting fences, clearing branches, making horse jumps/cowboy challenge obstacles, weeding or spraying the driveway, raking the arena, cleaning the stables and pens, veg gardening, helping out generally with the jobs we all need to do around the house.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    3 bedroom house, couples will have a queen size double room overlooking the paddocks, a single person will have the single room. Bedrooms include TV, DVD player and Chromecast. We provide cereal, museli, eggs, oats for breakfast and you have 'respectful' access to the food in the cupboards.

    While we provide some food basics we expect our helpers to cook for themselves at lunchtime as we do not eat in the evenings during the working week. We do cook homemade pizza on friday evenings and other meals at the weekends though. We have our own chickens so we usually have plenty of eggs and we grow salad and vegetables. We dont eat meat very much as we are predominantly vegan (health choice) but will occasionally eat a steak, fish and such. Our animals including the sheep and chickens are pets so don't get eaten ever... We cannot cater for strict Vegans, Peanut Allergies, Coeliacs.

    We are on rainwater collection so water levels are monitored, so showers are not something you can expect to have daily, and certainly not before you go outside to work for the day as that is a waste of water lol...So we ask you to be respectful of that. Sorry but that is a fact of life living in the country in New Zealand.

    We do have a spa that can be used respectfully at the weekend.

    This is a non smoking environment.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is so much to see and do around here.
    There is a bus stop near the house to get to Dunedin our nearby city, we also have mountain bicycles and dependant on drivers license and experience and as long as older than 25 we do allow the use of an automatic 4x4 car, but this is decided by us once we see how the helpers drive. There is a $500 (inexperienced drivers/those under 25) excess on top of the normal insurance excess of $500 that if the helper has an accident we expect them to pay.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    About 2 to 3 hours a day with the housemates option

Host ref number: 915795395959