Help me out with horses and organic gardening in Porto Covo, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 77 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am an open minded/free spirit, active elderly lady, living with my animals and caring for the farm that me and my passed away husband built 35 years ago, when we migrated from Germany to the Portuguese southwest coast. Even though I am a widow for a few years, I live a happy fulfilled and active life and love to be around all people, old and young. As my children both moved out, and now i have a big house to share and 2,5ha farm where I can develop my projects. I would need a helping hand with some of the more physical daily task such as taking care of the animals (3 horses from my daughter; my dog, 3 cats and chickens); a lot of green gardening ☺, some general maintenance of the house and the surroundings and maybe sometimes for shopping and cooking. I am Flexible person for the right people!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Elderly Companionship
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I´m open to help you to explore your interests. As I lived, worked and raised my kids here, I am actively integrated in the Portuguese society, knowing about its social, cultural and historical development. I can take you around to get to know the main villages and other places of interest. You can practice your language skills in Portuguese, German or English and there would also be the possibility to attend Portuguese lessons with my Portuguese daughter in law.
    This region is so rich in natural beauty and variety, from the more rural quiet country inside or the stunning Atlantic coastline and Natural Park, so it is perfect for outdoor activities like hiking, bicycle riding, horse riding, surfing, canoeing, fishing, etc. My son can show you the best location for this activities.
    As I love gardening, landscaping and growing vegetables in a very sustainable ecological way I can show you some permacultural techniques I have learned throughout the years. I also do a lot of special healthy cooking with a lot of vegetables and fruits. I can share my recipes for fruit smoothies, baking, preserving, gluten-free, lactose-free, sugar-free, Mediterranean food, typical Portuguese cuisine, and I’m always open to new cooking experiences.
    My daughter is a horse trainer and riding teacher at Moita Nova Equestre, She would help and guide you with the care of our 3 horses. You would get the possibility to practice or learn about a very special natural horsemanship bonding with the horses and the effect on our human wellbeing and personal development. Also about their natural care (freedom based, barefoot, bitless) or more specific areas like rehabilitation, osteopathy, physiotherapy, nutrition. There may even be opportunity to attend riding lessons at Moita Nova Equestre.

  • Help

    Help

    Help on a Farmstead is physical -so you must be reasonably fit and enjoying being outdoors. I don't want to be controlling volunteers so you should be a self starter who can help on your own initiative. You must have some life skills such as do basic DIY, basic use of tools, cleaning, maintenance tasks, being able to paint, chop wood, cut weeds/bushes, bring in firewood, and be confident around the animals.
    Animal care involves a basic daily routine and a big sense of responsibility! (you shouldn´t mind getting dirty, being in the rain, sun, mud and dust because you will have to look for them every day).
    The horses are kept in a very easy natural way, so they are always outside in the fields. Daily care includes watering, checking for their health, feeding the older horse, checking/repairing the electric fence and feeding hay or grass when needed. If you are confident and enjoy being around them you can include some grooming because they really appreciate all the attention. The dog and the 3 cats are best friends and always are there for some cuddles. Normally they are fed twice a day and the chickens once a day.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would get your own little apartment, with private kitchenette, bathroom and terrace. As it is an open concept and has one room with a double bed it is best suitable for one person or a couple. You are also welcome to come in my house for a tea, longer chats or playing board games. Because of my special dietary needs, I think it is better you would be responsible for your own food but ingredients will be provided. we can also cook together, anyway I would really like to share at least one meal with you every day, for eg lunch, and enjoy that as a nice familiar interaction.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I value 'down time' for both myself, and volunteers; in your time off you can just relax and enjoy your stay, go to the beach (5km) in the summer or during a rainy winter day watch a movie, do a puzzle, baking. You can also join me on some regular activities like doing yoga, swimming, go for walks. (Rota Vicentina) . I frequently go to some traditional markets and I also like to go to cultural happenings like concerts or meeting friends in a bar/ going to a restaurant
    The farm is in the middle of the country side we are 5Km from the closest village Porto Covo . Next towns are Vila Nova de Milfontes, Santiago do Cacém, Sines, Cercal do Alentejo.
    I normally go into town minimum twice a week I am happy to take you around. I can also give you a lift if you need to get to the train or bus.
    I can lend you my bicycle, and if you know how to drive and have a license you can use the scooter (50cc.)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 914876958599