Enjoy rural living, helping on a farm and with horses near Diss, East Anglia, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 294 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/08/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come and help on a small farm dedicated to our horses in the centre of East Anglia

    We are located on a private 17 acre horse farm about a mile outside of Diss in a beautiful area on the borders of Norfolk and Suffolk. We are two adults and a daughter of 12 living with us every other weekend. We currently have a rescue pony, dog and outdoor cat, and two horses and are surrounded by wildlife such as deer, hare, pheasants, resident owls, migrating Egrets and other wild birds.

    We would the volunteer to help around the farm, getting involved with whatever needs doing. We would prefer an experienced equestrian and there are also plenty of other projects to keep us busy with on the farm from painting stables and fences, cleaning up after the animals, maintaining fields, hedges and ditches, etc so the work is very physical but practical common sense is essential. Whilst there are no set hours as the season or weather often determines what can be done, there would be a maximum of 5 hours a day five days a week with accomodation and meals included.

    It is a bit of a ‘sleeves up and get stuck in’ place for us. We would also want you to have time to enjoy the area, it is beautiful, whilst quiet it does have local activities and history well worth exploring.

    Accommodation is in one of the spare bedrooms in the house and whilst it is in the midst of ongoing refurbishment we would expect you to take responsibility to clean and tidy up after yourself with respect as is a flexible attitude to cooking meals which are vegetarian/fish only. We don’t have a cook or cleaner or any external help so we get things done together.

    The farm is our home and we want to share and explore the area with others too since we have been too busy to appreciate. We want to enjoy the experience of meeting varied people from varied cultures and backgrounds as much as we hope you will enjoy our home and family. This is a friendly and laid back home where the animals come first and we work together to get things done.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a small family farm and a great opportunity to be close to the horses and enjoy a rural way of living. We like to explore local music and entertainment / arts, regularly seeking out theatre, festivals, dance and drama and would be happy for you to share evenings out with us. We all like to dance salsa and are happy to take you or advise where you can go to enjoy this. There's also a vibrant young culture in the university of Norwich which is attracted to the city's Restaurant and we have a lively local village pub with good food within walking distance we like to go to which has a strong music scene. The area is abundant with wildlife and especially birds, so is a great area for photography and painting. The closest market town is also steeped in history, as is Norwich City with its Cathedral, castle, market, football grounds and other entertainment venues 16 miles away and Bury St Edmunds 23 miles away. All can be explored by bus or train. Cambridge, beaches and the broads are also within the region.

  • Help

    Help

    Help is primarily required with the horses, e.g. clearing fields and stables together with general maintenance such as fencing, painting, gardening, haymaking during summer, dog walking and other creative and historic research projects. Applicants need to be strong, fit, energetic, reliable, self starters and able to take charge if necessary. We would prefer someone with good riding and training skills and have a training arena, round pen and walker, we like to practice natural horsemanship, horse agility, dressage and jumping as well as hacking out and attending shows and other days out with the horses to the beach and events. We would also like to practice our German, Spanish and Italian and learn more about these countries as they are places we like to visit whenever possible.

    We eat only vegetarian/fish and would hope you could help with the cooking also.

    We like to get away from time to time and would hope someone if they were longer term may be able to look after the house and the animals. We also respect that anyone volunteering may also want to get away and explore / see friends etc. and we would be flexible with this too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, German, a little Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accomodation is a single room in the modern farm house which is gradually being updated. There is a bathroom opposite the bedroom which my husband and I do not use. Tents / motorhomes can easily be accomodated. We now also have a double bed so could accommodate couples. There is also wifi. We do not smoke in the house and as we grow hay and have a barn close to the house would prefer non-smokers as we have a strict no smoking policy around the house and stables.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Norwich is 20 minutes by train and Ipswich 30 minutes. London Liverpool street is 90 mins by train and there are excellent bus services from Diss too. We can help drop off / pick up and we also have bikes available for use. Diss is a bustling, historic market town with amenties to include a leisure centre with sauna, steam room, public swimming pool and gym, museum, Corn Hall which hosts a varied program of entertainment and there are many workshops and classes in the area. The south Norfolk coutryside is picturesque and quiet and we would encourage anyone to explore the area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 914519931926