Experience a simple lifestyle and help our little family create a small urban farm in Piea, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 25 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/06/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 32 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Ciao, my name is Anna, I'm German but i live in Italy for about 15 years. Me and my son (*️️️2011) now live in a little town in the Monferrato hills, in Piedmont.
    After many years of traveling, moving in different projects and trying different things I wanted to settle down. I couldn't afford a big house with a lot of land, but i felt in love with the idea of a little space, that i could cure myself, that was nearly entirely dedicated to food and herb growing. A small urban farm where every space would be designed to produce fruits, herbs or vegetables with some space left for relaxing and playing, obviously!

    My dream is to include social e art activities too.

    I'm at the very beginning, and I go step by step, sometimes the steps are very little, but I would really enjoy the company of motivated people working for some time together. I would love to welcome people who bring in their skills and ideas, but who are also open to help out with simple but enjoyable duty's like cooking, helping in the household and staying with my son.

    From my place you are comfortable to go and visit Asti, it's a great place for walking and biking, in the summer month there's a pub with good live music.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    To make the best out of what you have, even if what you have seems to be little. Experiencing a simple lifestyle, less waste, doing as much as you can by yourself or finding local solutions. Finding a healthy compromise between leaving the mainstream but beeing part of the society arround you as it is today.
    And i will surely teach you to make a good bread!

  • Help

    Help

    Help required is different: surely i need some helping out with cooking and some household duty's specially as with you the family grows ;0), there's is the vegetable garden to be cured, there's always some maintaining work on the house to be done, and the more skill one have the more specific work we can get done, from painting the fence to build up a little shed near the house....i would love to build or restore some furniture myself or to think about alternative ways to provide water for the garden. But don't hesitate to contact me even if you have no experience with building or gardening as I appreciate also some help with my son and to practice our languages (English, German).

    Familys are welcome. I'll host from march 2018 on.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    german (motherlanguage) italian english little french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have you own room with a separate entrance but not always will be available a room with your own bath.

    We don't have a special diet, but eat locally grown healthy food, little meat and are open to provide for other diets if possible. We're doing our own bread.
    We're heating with wood in the winter time, the house is warm, but it requires a little more afford than central heating.
    We have a dog and two cats sharing our home with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our region is famous for wine, food and churches... I love it for the landscape, walking and ... surprises. We always discover something new. Places, people, fellow projects.

    There are buses going to Asti, and with some changes also to Chivasso, Chieri and Torino. I can give rides to other little towns/stations while going to work or bringing my son to school.

    I have experienced both beeing a volunteer and being a host, so i kind of understand both needs and expectations.
    Volunteers are welcomed as part of the family, wich means sharing, working and laughing together but also meeting the needs of a young child and a working mum (I work e few ours in the morning).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 914519754712