General gardening and building help needed in Limousin

Country

France

Favourited 52 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/12/2018

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, I'm Gerald, a retired engineer living alone in a converted barn in a scenic mountainous area of France (a bit like N Wales with trees!) As you can see from the photo there is a large balcony for eating, drinking or just enjoying the 30Kilometre view!

    I love (organic) gardening - chillies and exotic plants are my speciality - but find an acre (half a hectare) a bit difficult to cope with. The garden is divided into several areas and includes a Japanese garden with a fish pond.

    There is quite a bit of general building work (painting, plasterboard, woodwork etc) left to do on the house and never ending gardening tasks, curtailed by my aches and pains.

    My bit of fun is playing in a comedy rock/blues group (The Incontinentals - You can find us on you tube)) and also popping down the village to quaff a beer or three in the two bars - one sells British bottled beers. I like walking in the countryside, spotting the wildlife, taking photos, etc.

    I'm also very fond of music of most types but particularly jazz and classical, I also read a great deal. I don't have a TV, apart from a few films and comedy it's not very interesting.

    I also enjoy cooking, especially curries. I am a semi vegetarian (fish, eggs, cheese are on the menu but not meat) Meat eaters would either have to go without bacon and brawn or bring their own frying pan!

    My cat is called Rascal and there is a friendly stray living in the garden.



    I would prefer to have m/f couples

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    General gardening and building help.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A 3 bedroomed, stone 3 story house with living and workshop areas downstairs, over a large cellar. Two bedrooms are available for visitors, one double, one single.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are plenty of touristy things to do in the Limousin, it's a very scenic part of France also. Limoges is the nearest city and is famous for its beautiful porcelain and enamel artwork. There are several interesting museums in the city and the cathedral grounds are like a botanical garden - fantastic. Pompadour, well known for the dressage training and shows with horses, is less than an hour away. Lac Vassiviere is wonderful and has a permanent art centre on an Island.

    From a work point of view there's no pressure, I just need general gardening and DIY help in a relaxed way. I would prefer non smokers.

    Your own transport would be useful (though I do have a little spare car for use), it's out in the sticks here.

    Re the photos - My son and me (left) lost in the deep jungle. Being Father Christmas for my 7 year old granddaughter. Just found a nice comfy place for a quick nap.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    fairly flexible, 2 to 4 hours say.





Host ref number: 913582727521