Help in the garden and woodland and also with some renovations in a beautiful house, Kilkenny Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 71 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there, I live on a small farm in rural Ireland and have two grown up daughters who live in Italy and Dublin. The current projects underway here are building a barn, renovating a small 1 bed stone cottage and building an off-grid tree house. I work for myself in education for sustainability and produce a podcast series on the topic. I have travelled abroad and have many international connections through my work so I am used to international cultural exchanges. Several of my friends here locally invite volunteers to for their projects and we regularly get together to help the cultural exchange. I recognise that I cannot do all I want to do here with this lovely place and so I am involving others. The project is to develop a social enterprise with others who can develop their own projects on the land and share in what this place has to offer.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I work in education for sustainability and have quite a lot of international experience so I offer a respectful learning environment to helpers. I enjoy sharing my knowledge and experiences with others. I have plenty of social connections locally and there is a lot of interesting activity going on so you will have plenty to do in your time off.

  • Help

    Help

    Thank you for taking the time to read my profile. I live in a beautiful house in the south east of Ireland about 140 kilometers from Dublin and 3 kilometers from the small town of Graig-na-Managh, Co Kilkenny which has daily buses to Kilkenny city. I live on 15 hectares (35 acres) which include 7 hectares (20 acres) of native woodland with pathways and a waterfall. I am involved in several different projects and am looking forward to welcoming you to my home and getting some help around here. I am developing a social enterprise around a sustainable community based on the land here.

    The current projects underway here are building a barn, renovating a small 1 bed stone cottage and building an off-grid tree house.
    I always need help around the house and garden. In the house I need painting and general DIY help so some building skills would be great. There is a vegetable garden and I need help keeping this going.; the help will be varied and interesting and we can perhaps teach each other new skills.

    I will also need help with preparing another small 1 bedroom house and this would involve basic building and painting. I have quite a few building skills myself so I just need support on this project but someone with building/handyman experience would be very useful.

    I am working in the woodland joining the two little footpaths that are there in a manner that creates a loop walk without disturbing the trees too much. This also involves building some features such as stone seats and walls, a small bridge, shelters etc.

    I would hope that the tasks would be varied and interesting for you and you would not be doing the same tasks all the time.


    . I would want someone to stay at least two weeks. I have put a selection of photos of my house and lands on the site.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would live in a spare room in my house which I restored about 20 years ago so it has all the necessities of life. You would have your own room and share the bathroom and the rest of the house. I would provide home cooked meals and comfortable surroundings. You would be expected to help 5 hours per day, 5 days per week. Ideally, I am looking for someone who has general handyman/building and/or gardening experience. I could also do with some social media skills as I am trying to promote this project.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The rest of the time you would be free to explore the magical fairy woodland here and loads of lovely places locally.
    Graig-na-Managh is a small town of 1800 people and has a lovely river flowing through it which during the summer is a good bathing spot and has because years ago the river was important commercially it has a tow path all along it for walking. There are shops, library, community activities and lively bars to explore in the town. There is a bus to Kilkenny everyday which would allow you to visit this thriving medieval city.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    About 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Waterfall in woodland
Bridge in woodland built with Oriol in August 2018 - a Workawayer from Barcelona
With Damien and Guillaume (workawayers) in the vegetable garden
My house
Living room
Kitchen
Woodland path
Oak tree - mother tree of the woodland
View of the mountains in the evening
River bridge in Graig-na-Managh

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.3)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 911652443744