Help on smallholding. Munster, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 131 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/11/2020

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are living in a remote spot in west cork on around 7.5 acres. We have 2 dogs, 2 cats, a few laying chickens, some geese, a few ducks, two goats, 2 milking cows and 5 calves. We also have a 3 year old boy.

    We are growing and raising food for ourselves for varied idealogical reasons but mostly because we want to!

    Projects coming up in the next month or so include;
    Installing irrigation into the polytunnel,
    Spreading manure
    Picking and storing vegetables,
    Plucking chickens
    Building/painting/ renovating
    Fencing
    Planting soft fruit
    I could go on.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are in a remote farming community in west cork (although we are from the UK) We work like slaves and eat like kings! We have both worked in hospitality and food so there is the opportunity to learn a lot about cooking and food if you are interested.

  • Help

    Help

    Digging, tending poly tunnel, milking cows, making poultry house, spreading manure, feeding animals, collecting and cutting firewood. cooking, cleaning dog walking and childminding also appreciated.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room in an old stone house which has just been painted. You will be warm and comfortable but it is scruffy and there is some damp as the house is old. There will be three meals a day, we're flexible with food allergies etc but fussy eaters might struggle!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Beautiful walking in the mountains and lakes of west Cork. We have one car and there is no bus or anything else. We usually leave the house twice week for food and might manage the odd trip to the pub! No telly but it is possible to watch DVDs. We listen to and play music but couldn't be described as hippies! We have a little boy who is 3 years old.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 626421147542