Help on our home in the Hills! in the beautiful Sunshine Coast Hinterland, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 21 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi Guys,

    We are a family of 4 living in the beautiful Sunshine Coast Hinterland. We also have my mum in a granny flat on the property, 1 dog and 6 chickens. My wife and I did a trip through Europe a few years back and used workaway and really loved the experience, now we have settled for a bit we are really keen to get hosting and experience workaway from the other side.

    Our property isn't huge but we have a number of projects on the go in the house and in the yard. Our house is up on a hill with views all around, close enough to town that it isn't inconvenient but far enough away to feel like you are on a (very small) farm.

    For the short term a couple would be ideal to work on our renovation project (see details below) though a handy single workawayer is more than welcome as well.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers will get the opportunity to explore the Sunshine Coast from a central location. We love talking with people from all over the world and swapping stories of our travels as well. You will also get the opportunity to learn a bit about construction if you are interested.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking to completely renovate a room and bathroom in the shed that will become our workawayer accommodation or for vacation rental. This will be our focus for the rest of the year so a workawayer with some construction experience would be a massive bonus.

    We have plenty of other little chores around the property including gardening and maintenance as well as housework and some childcare for those not inclined towards building projects.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in my mums granny flat with your own room and access to the kitchen and bathroom there. It is nearly new so is very comfortable, we just ask that you respect her place by cleaning up after yourself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It would be ideal if you have a vehicle but not a dealbreaker as there is plenty of public transport in nearby Nambour. There is always someone heading out each day so we can give you a lift into town or somewhere else most of the time. We are about 30 minutes to the beach and the main hub of Maroochydore if you want to go for a day trip, alternatively the small hinterland town of Mapleton is about 10 minutes in the other direction. There is a number of bushwalks nearby with a nice waterfall at the end of our road. We can lend workawayers a bike for a cruise around or lend towels and daybags if you want to head to the beach.

    We have a reasonably well set up gym in our house that you are more than welcome to use as well, we try to stay fit and healthy and are happy for you to join in with workouts if you want.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Amy and I on holidays
Veggie garden, beans are going well but we would like some help to get it really up and going
Our little shelter near the dam
Pumpkins are getting a little out of hand
2 out of 3 of our chooks
Workawayers bathroom. Pretty basic but it is nice and clean and you have it to yourself
Shot 2 of the bathroom
Workawayers kitchenette.
This is the granny flat we built in the backyard. Workawayers may be staying in here for a little while as we get the accommodation sorted, don't worry though my Mum is a nice person
Backyard at the top house
View from the backyard at the top house. If you are into fitness a couple of laps up and down will keep you in shape
The front of our house. Pretty boring but hey, now you know
Our home gym
Our dog Pippa who refuses to look at the camera
Christmas photos with Amy, myself and our little man Rory

Host ref number: 899451873366