Looking for help with house and garden maintenance near North West Golden, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 56 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/05/2021

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4, Mike and Elfriede, our dog Kansas, and our cat Jasper. We are born again believers and followers of the Lord Jesus Christ. We live about 20 km outside of Golden, BC along a dirt road, away from traffic and noise. We can see the boundaries of 3 National Parks (Banff, Yoho and Glacier National Park) from our home. Our home is only a 5 minute walk from the Blaeberry River. There is lots of hiking, biking and great outdoors around us. We have a big garden, greenhouse and some chickens.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    How life is in an international family, as Elfriede is originally from Germany but now Canadian and Mike is from the States. Interaction of a close knit neighborhood, life away from the city, living close to and with nature.

  • Help

    Help

    Here are a few things we would like some help with:
    In the spring = June:
    -treating the deck
    -rota tilling, preparing, and planting the garden
    -helping around house and garden (raking the lawn, a lot of little things)

    In late July, August and September:
    -weeding
    -harvesting and processing

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guest room with private bath.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the heart of 6 National Parks. Behind our house you can see the Canadian Rocky Mountains and from the front yard you can see the Purcell and Selkirk Mountains. There is a lot of wildlife in the woods and pastures around our house. That said, serious hiking up mountains will probably not be possible in May/early June yet because of the snow in the mountains. Hiking and biking in the valley will be fine. Nature pure.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)














Host ref number: 827346716677