Help us with our home and garden renovation project in Charente Maritime, France

Country

France

Favourited 70 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 17 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young, semi-retired couple - Glyn & Alan and not forgetting our cat Tiggy. Our Charentaise house and barns are in a very pretty little hamlet and you can walk into the local village in 10 minutes via a track through sunflower and maize fields.

    Our nearest beach is 20 minutes by car and the Islands of LÎlle d'Oléron and Îlle d'Ré are just 30 - 40 minutes drive. Its very quiet and picturesque where we live and opposite is a wood with 3 natural springs. At night you can hear the owls calling to each other and in the day the tapping of woodpeckers. The nearest large towns are Saintes 20 minutes by car and Royan on the coast 15 minutes by car.

    We would welcome a volunteer to help us out with our project and in return we can provide accommodation and meals.

    Alan is a semi-retired construction project manager who has worked all of his life on large building projects in and around central London so plenty of guidance and knowledge will be available.

    I was a company director and I organised bespoke tours, holidays and weddings in southern Italy. Since moving to France I have rekindled my love of art - mainly watercolour, acrylic, mixed media, collage and mosaics and I am currently organising a Painting Holiday in France for 2021.

    We have 4 children and 7 wonderful grandsons spread far and wide across the globe and we love it when they visit us.

    Meals will be provided and packed lunches if you decide to go to the beach at the weekend. We can always drop you off and collect you or if you're feeling energetic you can use our bicycle.

    There is a nice mobile home on site that has a double bedroom, bathroom with shower, separate toilet with washbasin, comfortable lounge and kitchen. Wifi is available.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Alan is more than happy to pass on his knowledge about construction and building so if this is something you are involved in you may find it very useful, especially so if you are studying to be a Construction Project Manager or want to work in construction .

    A lot of our friends are French and we have summer BBQs so if you are learning French our friends will enjoy helping you!

  • Help

    Help

    We would like some general help with renovating our house, barn and garden. This may involve mixing concrete, moving materials around, ground-clearing and cutting back hedges and trees. There will be the opportunity to learn new skills if you so wish.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a 38ft mobile home on site with a double bedroom with bathroom with half bath and shower over, separate toilet and washbasin, kitchen area, dining area and a lounge. It is very comfortable. Wifi is available. There is a DVD player in the mobile home.

    There are cooking facilities in the mobile home with a new fridge, microwave, toaster small oven and 2 burner hob and kettle. We will provide all food/drinks and accommodation.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is always something happening in Royan and Saintes. Our local village is quite quiet, however, it does have a bar which is also the local shop, cafe and post office. There is a cinema night once a month (in French) in the library and the Pizza Man arrives every Thursday evening and parks his van on the church car park. You can always take your pizza and eat it in the bar and watch football if there are any international matches. The bar owner is English. Opposite the bar is a patisserie for croissants, pastries and fresh bread. There is a bus that takes you into town and I can give you these details.

    Nearby and just a very short bike ride away is the extremely picturesque Augustinian Abbey of Sablonceaux which dates back to 1136.

    Our nearest airports are La Rochelle which is 40 minutes drive and Poitiers and Bordeaux which are both 1 1/2 hrs drive. La Rochelle itself is an amazing town and it has a great aquarium, beaches, restaurants, port and 2 cinemas.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 - 4 hrs a day.

Host ref number: 898889485312