Help in our small garden and assist us in becoming more self-sustainable in Northern New Mexico, USA


United States


Favourited 29 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days


 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

  • Description


    We are a, two person household in the forest of Northern New Mexico on a 700 acres property. Katrin is from Germany, Jack is from the United States.

    We live on a 2,500-acre track of land that is considered a Shamanic Sanctuary with no hunting, pesticides, and with an ongoing effort to protect and enhance the land and forests. We operate on solar energy and have our own well for clean and delicious drinking water.

    We are grateful to be the stewards of this land and it is our intention to share the peace and quiet that is abundantly available. Usually friends, family, retreat participants and house guests are frequent visitors. Due to Covid we have to restrict visitations and make responsible choices about who we invite into our home.

    We usually offer retreats to like minded people, however do to Covid we had to cancel our May and June retreat.

    VALUES: Our lives are dedicated to personal transformation, spiritual practice, cultural diversity and sustainability.

    HELP NEEDED: We have 2 Workaways with us till the beginning of June who are helping with building a green house and with maintenance projects. At this point we are open to talk to anyone, who has a passion for food, cooking and attending to our plants. We would like a person that wants to take on meal prepping, maybe even food shopping and taking care of the green house. Depending on your skill set we might ask you to attend to other projects in and around the house like maintenance, firewood, raking, painting, and minor carpentry. We will try to tailor the help to individual tastes and interests. We offer the ideal setting if you are looking for a retreat environment and are interested in quiet time and introspection.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    MEDITATION: We offer spiritual instruction and support developing a meditation practice if there is an active interest. Our library has a good collection of psychological and spiritual topics.

    QIGONG: We were trained and certified in China to teach this deeply healing and energizing art for physical, emotional and mental health. We are happy to share our knowledge and volunteers are welcome to join our practice if there is a sincere interest.

    LIFE SKILLS: Katrin is trained in Dialectical Behavioral Skills for distress tolerance, interpersonal effectiveness, and emotion regulation. She is happy to share different skills, should there be interest (or a need).

    COOKING: We eat simple nutritious meals, mostly vegetarian and are willing to accommodate vegan diets. We enjoy input from other cultures and sharing recipes.

  • Help


    Help with gardening - our garden/green house is super small but will need some attention
    Help with meal preparation for us and occasional guests/volunteers
    Firewood cutting and stacking
    Help with landscaping around our home, maintenance and carpenter skills welcome.

    Expected hours: 20 per week.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, Spanish, rudimentary French

  • Accommodation


    We have two beautiful, small cabins with decks and access to a full bathroom.
    During retreats of 2 to 3 days, participants will use the cabins. If needed, we may ask that volunteers move into tents during those times. We might have renters for one cabin to do a self retreat.

    If we have more than two volunteers, we offer accommodations in the main house. One bedroom with full bathroom for a couple and a shared room with bunk beds for same gender volunteers are available

    We provide healthy, 'home-cooked' meals with gluten-free options and we may offer vegan options. We use organic fruits and vegetables whenever possible. Almond milk, herbal and regular teas and coffee are provided as standard beverages. We do not offer expensive extras such as specialist nut milks, gourmet coffee, designer cheeses, organic juices, grass-fed beef, etc.

    Please note that drugs, tobacco or alcohol (including e-cigs, vaping, etc) are NOT allowed anywhere on the property at any time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are close to Santa Fe, a small city with an unusual diversity of spiritual offerings, art and intentional communities. Equally inspiring is Taos, another mid size town. Both places are about a 1.5-hour drive from where we live. We are happy to take helpers for occasional visits. Having your own car would give you more freedom.

    IMPORTANT NOTE: We are in a very remote, rural location. If you prefer busy places and want to be in or near towns and regularly visiting cafes, stores, museums, etc., we would not be able to meet your interests. Our center is best suited for nature-lovers

    We request people come to stay for at least 3 weeks. Arrival days can be any day of the week.

    We have chosen this life style and location because we enjoy nature, quiet time and making spiritual practice a priority in our life. Please know that we don’t take responsibility for your free time and entertainment. It will be important that you are comfortable to spend time on your own or with other volunteers that are here. Our internet is slow and if you have high demands on video streaming or social media use you will be disappointed. Most youtube videos load slowly and have interruptions.
    If you are attempting to recover from addiction, cure a mental health issue or suffer from PTSD, please know that we are not equipped for this kind of high need support. However, if you want to increase your ability to relax, develop more clarity about who you are and add a few skills to your tool box, a stay at the Casa will not disappoint you.
    A tolerance for routine and spending time with the same group of people for several weeks is an important requirement.

    There is no public transport locally. You will depend on the trips we take to town if you don’t have your own car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 896811893735