We would love to welcome people who enjoy nature, communal living and find joy in renovating and beautifying property- New York State, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 52 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a quaint little place called Tillson between New Paltz and Kingston, 20 minutes from the Omega Center, 30 minutes from Woodstock in New York State just 90 minutes from the Big Apple. We live in a big home on an acre of land that needs some work. We would like to host traveling workawayers periodically who are skilled at carpentry, painting and gardening to help us improve our home and property.


    We, Ronnie and Pam are a very youthful spiritual couple (in our early 60's) who have a spacious home that we have opened up to share with travelers like BnB and Home Exchange guests. We would love to welcome people who enjoy nature, communal living and find joy in renovating and beautifying property. Ronnie is a Holistic Intuitive Counselor and Writer and Pam is a Canadian trained Registered Massage Therapist and Teacher. We are interested in metaphysics, spirituality, meditation, nutrition, health, music, nature lovers, travelers, teaching and life long learning.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can help travelers with English practice and we are learning Spanish so it could be a mutual win-win. Pam can provide instruction on massage for people of all ages. Ronnie is learning the bass and would enjoy learning more from other music lovers.We could give you guidance to local sights of interest and hiking and biking trails to enjoy in your free time. We are close to The Omega Center which offers courses on self awareness and spiritual growth. There are many festivals and meditation centers nearby.

  • Help

    Help

    What we currently need is someone with the necessary skills to work independently to upgrade the house which needs some minor repairs, some interior and exterior painting, tilling and planting the garden, mowing the lawn, pruning bushes and trees and cleaning and organizing projects. The property has a man made pond that we would like to change into a waterfall and to have the pump installed and a barn that could use some TLC . We also would enjoy having others share meal preparation and household chores.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some French, learning Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a couple of extra rooms that you can choose from and there are 3 bathrooms.There is also a large communal kitchen and common room, great wifi reception and the possibility of the use of a shared bike.We are healthy omnivores who eat lots of organic plants too! You will have 3 meals a day including on the 2 days off when you are here.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a rustic suburban hamlet a short walk to the local Rail Trail where nature lovers can hike or bike. On recent hikes we have seen deer, owls, turtles, a multitude of birds and abandoned limestone mines which are a cave spelunker' s dream come true! There are connecting buses nearby to all locales and we can meet you at nearby bus stop.

    Pam was a workawayer in Uruguay January through March in 2017 and loved the experience of immersion in Spanish culture and being able to share her time, energy and expertise in exchange for a place to stay and meals.

    We are non-smokers and non-drinkers and prefer to have workawayers who are aligned with our healthy lifestyle. Smoking outside and moderate drinking in your free time is acceptable. We like our home to be kept clean and well organized and appreciate your support in that. Responsible use of the facilities and cleanliness of shared space is a basic requirement. We are deeply grateful for the good life and home we have here and enjoy our free time, have a lot of fun, laughs but we are not "party people" or " 4/20 friendly".

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 895929592664