Renovate a 19th Century House, Garden, Shop-Fit or Farm in Southern Dalmatia, Croatia

Country

Croatia

Favourited 146 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    346

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I recently moved to my ancestral home in the village of Janjina on the Peljesac Peninsula of Croatia. There is a lot we need help with so volunteers can tell us what they would prefer to help out with based on their strengths and skills.

    Our current plans include renovations and repairs (mostly cleaning) around our 19th century stone house, and clearing up overgrown land.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My husband and I are both from South Africa. Volunteers could learn about our experiences of both Africa and Europe.
    This opportunity would best be suited to guests who are travelling in and around Croatia, are interested in working outdoors, and renovation. We also know a bit about local sites of interest, herbs and natural medicines; all which we could share with you over a cup of locally-picked herbal tea.

  • Help

    Help

    These are our priorities:
    Indoor cleaning (the living space, basements, barns and our workshop)
    Outdoor cleaning (gardens, neatening up the exterior of the house, sorting wood from waste on properties and cleaning around olive trees)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Afrikaans, Croatian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers will each receive their own single bed upstairs in our house. We will provide linen for the beds, a blanket, and a pillow.
    You will also have space to store your stuff in the bedrooms.
    We will all live together and will share meals and hang out downstairs. We do not heat the upstairs part of the house, but it is warm enough to sleep in.
    We will share the downstairs bathroom, which includes a toilet, basin, and bathtub for showers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    *️️️️️️️ All volunteers will need to provide us with a copy of their IDs/passports and proof of health insurance upon arrival. EHIC is fine for EU residents, proof of travel health insurance is necessary for non-EU residents. We require this because the nature of the work we need help with is primarily physical (moving things, working with rocks and wood). Should anything happen, we have a clinic and 24-hour emergency services just down the road from us.

    *️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️ We have a cat and dog inside the house, but they are not allowed in the bedrooms upstairs. They are friendly and love to play once they learn to trust guests in the house.

    *️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️ We are vegetarian and will not provide for non-vegetarian meals. Should you want to eat meat, you can prepare it on the grill outside. We prefer it if volunteers cook (especially if there are many of you, and when you cook, you work 4 hours per day, instead of 5.

    *️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️ Volunteers must please bring their own work clothes, and shoes. We will provide gloves, materials, tools, and masks (if necessary, when working with dust/mildew).

    Janjina is situated in the heart of the Peljesac Peninsula. It is a lovely old village full of history, and is surrounded by a breathtaking natural environment.
    We are halfway between Ston and Orebic; both are 30km away and accessible by bus, and it is easy to hitchhike.
    We have sea on both sides of us, which is 2km away. On one side we have "Veliko More" (Big Sea), where you have Trstenik and Zuljana. On the other side we have "Malo More", a small gulf between the mainland and the peninsula, where Drace and Sreser are situated.
    Nearby attractions include Korcula Island (accessible by ferry from Orebic), Mljet National Park (accessible by ferry from Prapatno), and Dubrovnik (accessible by bus for day trips).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, Mon-Fri, 08:00 - 13:00

Our dining room
Our house
Our verandah
Janjina
Luke & Maja
Small garden (requires cleaning)
Small basement (clean and sort items)
Basement exterior wall (needs chipping and plastering)
Basement (requires cleaning and wall scraping)
Shop that needs to be cleaned and prepared for opening
Olive grove that requires cleaning
Wall that needs chipping and plastering



Host ref number: 893912676878