Help the start of a renovation of my new cottage in Metung, Victoria, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi :)

    I'm renovating my cottage and setting up a new garden. I am an English Language Teacher, a cheesemaker, have travelled a lot and worked overseas. I work three days a week and the rest of the time I spend gardening, working on my new property and catching up with friends and family. I live in a gorgeous, very small village surrounded by the Gippsland Lakes; my house is five minutes walk from the Lakes. Come here if you like nature and quiet :) I have four very much loved chickens.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have been teaching ESL (EAL/TESOL) for the last 20 years. I can’t help out with English on my work days (Mon-Wed) but I am very happy for you to practice with me. I have lived overseas and travelled a lot and learned Japanese, Spanish and French, even though I am only at a pre-intermediate(A2) level. I would LOVE to practice French or Spanish. I love to cook and create things in the kitchen and would love to learn culinary things from you. Most of my friends around here are artists and we have a lively and fun social life.

  • Help

    Help

    One or two people, but you need to be happy working on your own (like solitude), as I’m out three days a week.

    The things I need help with will be lots of fun and you can work at your own pace.

    I need help building a chicken house and yard so builders would be VERY welcome. A meal or two a week cooked for me would be wonderful on my long working days :) I would love to have some help with my French, so perhaps a few hours a week on that would be fabulous!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish and Japanese.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I rent the flat under my house, so for the first few days you can be in there (it is very nice with its own small bathroom and kitchenette).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live in a beautiful place; you’ll love walking along the beach or through the bush-there are so many walks near my house. It is a fifteen minutes drive to the ocean at Lakes Entrance and nearby four lovely rivers, the mountains and wilderness. You can see Koalas in the wild forty minutes drive away and the Buchan Caves one hour away. There is lots of fishing, boating (I have a kayak too) and sailing. It is a farming community as well so there are lots of farms nearby. The snow fields are only three hours away. It will be best for you if you have your own car as there is no bus into Metung.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 893196975328