An Interesting Combination: Help Renovate an Old House and Gain a Nice Cultural Experience in Detroit, USA!

Country

United States

Favourited 49 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/09/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm a 34-year-old woman with a passion for old architecture, travel, theater and the city of Detroit!

    I am currently renovating an old house from 1909, including adding new bathrooms, a new kitchen, painting, finishing floors and general sprucing.

    I am hiring out the big things, but I would like help on the smaller projects. The main thing I'm looking for now is help repairing the walls - stripping paint, mudding (I can teach you!), sanding, painting and priming. I would also like help hanging things, mowing the lawn and moving furniture/heavy things (the last two are tasks I particularly detest). I am also learning to do my own tiling and floor refinishing, so anyone who could be a support in that regard would be helpful. Additionally, I would like someone to be at the house to help me manage contractors that come and go while I'm at work.

    I am also active in the local Couchsurfing community, so you would have an opportunity to interact with a lot of locals and fellow travelers.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I know the city well and am an excellent tour guide! I can take you to the coolest parts of Detroit and help you navigate the city to make the best of your time here. I am also very well-connected here, so if there's something you're particularly interested in (art, architecture, history, jobs, etc.) I can probably connect you with someone.

    You would also have the opportunity to expand or improve upon your home maintenance skills!

  • Help

    Help

    Painting, removing paint, yard work, moving heavy objects, hanging things (frames, decorations, etc.), managing contractors and assisting me with projects like tiling and refinishing floors. Specialty skills (dry wall, plumbing, etc.) would also be appreciated but not necessary.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a huge three-floor, five-bedroom house...currently under renovation. You would have your own room, complete with a queen-sized bed or air mattress (depending on how many people we have) as well as bedding, towels and closet/dresser space.

    The bathrooms are currently under renovation, so there are some limitations, but there is definitely a toilet and a hot shower :). Things are changing every day! (Message me, and I'll tell you where I'm at :)).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Detroit is changing rapidly, and the energy here is amazing!

    The city has beautiful historic architecture, as well as great museums like the Detroit Institute of Art, the Motown Museum and the Charles H. Wright Museum of African-American History. Detroit is also about 45 minutes away from Ann Arbor, a great day trip-worthy college town.

    Detroit has limited transportation, so having your own car would be ideal (street parking is available). A bike would also be great and could take you to the QLine that goes through downtown.

    Lifestyle: I am fairly straight edge, so absolutely no drugs or smoking at my house or excessive partying. I also have a fairly quiet lifestyle. Mostly looking for basic consideration and manners :).

    I love singing, dancing, theater, karaoke, bonfires and board games, so let me know if you're down for any of these things :).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 892773975949