Help out with my organic vegetable garden and house in London, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 1490 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi
    UPDATE
    JUNE. We are have only 2 beds and have already offered them to 2 fantastic volunteers for June. But 2 amazing people, who want to come will be camping ( nights) in a big tent , + firepit, BBQ in our beautiful garden . So If you want to join us for 3 -4 weeks and camp too - just contact me. I have never offered camping before but I think it will work and and there is a huge kitchen and living room to hang out in too.
    JULY - AUGUST. No help needed thank you. I have plans to go walkabout.
    MID AUGUST TO SAY NOVEMBER ? You are welcome to contact me but I will not make any definite decisions until early August.

    GENERALLY .
    We need enthusiastic, friendly practical, hands on, problem solving flexible people - who can offer actual experience and skills - if not expertise . i.e. organic gardening/projects, building / house maintenance/ decoration , sewing/upholstery, possibly photography/ design. If you apply and your profile does not explain your experience/skills - please write to me (via this site ) about them. Sorry - I have so many lovely applicants but little time for prolonged exchanges.

    With much regret - I had stopped welcoming people during Covid but I have greatly missed them and have really appreciated people coming back this year.

    I also had about 4+ - previous amazing - years experience as a Host. I also used another work exchange site - where I had many positive reviews. Please ask for details + further images.

    I first started because I wanted ( and still want ) to be a volunteer. But I had to stay here and did the next best thing - just let the world come to me! I'm an artist/art educator, well travelled , energetic with a lot of organic gardening and some house maintenance experience. I love walking /hiking and London and it's cultural opportunities. I live in a one off amazing house with 3/4 other adults aged 25 + - 50 ++ who are variously skilled in science, arts, fitness, games/making/software engineering + differing interests in the arts, music and physical activities + a 5 year old frequently visiting expert on the public transport network! I have a marquee/studio in my garden.

    We have really enjoyed the company and appreciated the contributions of all the volunteers who gave so much in terms of help, new ideas, fabulous recipes and much laughter and look forward to hosting again.
    There is a lot to do - particularly in the house and big organic vegetable garden and I need design input if a special person has interesting ideas.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Lots of opportunities to explore and experience London. Bikes are available and advice freely given - be it on free /cheap events, arts/tourist attractions or just ways to find work, volunteer at museums or improve English.
    Lots of opportunities to learn about organic growing and improve other skills.

    I previously taught English as a foreign language and have a lot of books etc that other volunteers have found useful.

  • Help

    Help

    Please do not contact me if you need a place outside relevant dates and/or if your skills do not fit as I get a lot of requests and I can't reply to them all !

    People with detailed information about their skills /experience + references from another host or otherwise preferred.


    MORE GENERALLY

    The main help, subject to weather will be helping with the vegetable and other gardens, outdoor maintenance and painting and when it is wet, internal decoration, cleaning and clearing a huge loft space.

    There's also fences and sheds to mend, trellises to put up, water conservation systems to devise and structures to build outside and a lot of different house maintenance tasks, and lots of external and internal sanding/ painting to do and may be opportunities to build bookcases etc . If you have experience in making blinds, cushion covers, upholstery ..you will be doubly welcome.

    Help is always needed in a very big garden and massive organic vegetable patch ..... Enthusiastic and experienced gardeners / plant lovers/ vegetable growers welcome but otherwise - people with stamina, problem solving skills and work proof finger nails... Frankly if you have a bad back .... its not for you.

    I ask for a minimum of the equivalent of 5 full hours help per day five week days a week, a positive attitude and a good sense of humour. Weekend are free.

    There are many people who want to come to London – so if you are interested ...it would be v helpful if you would provide references and information
    • About your skills/experience and what you might contribute,
    • When you are available and
    • How long [ minimum and maximum] you would like to stay and
    • Whether you have any allergies/intolerances or special requirements/diet

    If English isn't your 1st language - please honestly disclose your level of speaking/understanding and how you are learning. If 2 volunteers are non English speaking, I try and ensure that they do not share another language.

    Looking forward to your response.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    ACCOMMODATION will be in large period house 3 mins walk from the station with an unusually big garden in a beautiful and historic area of London close to the river, parks, pubs, the museums in Kensington and National Botanic Gardens at Kew.

    The 2 helpers share one large room with a high double bed with a 2nd bed below. Bedding/towels provided. You will be welcome in the household and have the use of the bathrooms [ continuous hot water], play the guitar or just sit around our huge kitchen table [ for 10+] and chat or chill in the living room living room in the house or enjoy the garden. There will be 3+ other adults around but people are working and tend to be v busy.

    You need to be happy to share with person of another gender .

    Food will be good quality and plentiful . Loads of home grown organic veg. .People who love to cook healthy food particularly welcome

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    WHAT ELSE IS ON OFFER?

    I provide use of high speed broadband, loads of food and endless organic vegetables , the odd beer and a warm welcome.

    This is a brilliant opportunity for anyone to stay in pleasant green surroundings and experience everything London has to offer without bursting their budget.

    London is in exhaustible - but can be ridiculously expensive but everyone here will happily pass on info /knowledge and how to experience it for free/ on the cheap.

    The station is 2 mins walk + good connections by rail/tube to all over London . However helpers to date have borrowed bikes to explore Central London ( 8+ kilometres 30 + mins on mostly flat) and there are great river walks /rides to historic/interesting places in West London.

    We can can help you meet people with similar interests including language practice exchanges and find opportunities for work if you have/can get the necessary permit. Some previous helpers progressed their English and found jobs and a new life in the UK. Sadly Brexit is reducing these opportunities.

    .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I would consider this. 1 of our household is a games developer and working from home.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours- 8.30- 13.30 Mon - Fridays. Weekends free.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 889338933141