Small hobby farm in picturesque Western Australia- Manjimup

Country

Australia

updated   Last minute

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/10/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We are a family of four in Manjimup, south-west of Western Australia. We live on 8 acres, around 8 min drive from the centre of town. Nicky is a teacher, and works in town every day. Luke works part time at the high school. If you're keen to come and visit, please contact me.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll see the work involved in setting up a small hobby farm. You'll get fit by helping outdoors. You will also discover the beautiful south-west of WA and all the gorgeous little towns around here. I am happy to help if you are learning English.

  • Help

    Help

    There are lots of tasks to do in order to establish our dream of a self sufficient hobby farm. So far we have chickens, ducks and a veggie patch. I'm learning how to grow veggies in our soil type with somewhat salty water. A huge challenge! You can help by preparing more beds, watering, weeding and giving advice. :) The fruit trees need netting between December and February, and the fruit harvested. Once harvested, we need to preserve it.

    Around the property there is some basic pruning and clearing up to do if you are handy with a chainsaw and like working outside. If you are more of an inside person, you are welcome to help with the evening meal or some basic housework.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, basic Indonesian.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a converted bus set up for potential guests. It contains 1 King size bed, 2 single bunk beds and camp stoves. We lived in it for 7 months, so its pretty well set up. It's parked next to our stream with outdoor fire pit. No outdoor shower or compost toilet yet- maybe you could help us build these?- but you are welcome to use our indoor facilities. (old, dated, and in need of renovations, but serviceable) Internet is available close to the house. If its warm, you're welcome to have a swim or canoe in our dam. There's fish in there if you're keen to try fishing. We have bikes if you'd like to go for a bike ride- its a very pretty 40 minute ride into town.

    We can supply you with simple breakfast foods such as toast or cereal. We are often in a rush to get to school first thing in the morning! Lunch food will be available in the main house and we'd love to share the evening meal all together. You are welcome to cook if that is something you enjoy, or we are happy to cook.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I go into town most days if you need a lift. There is fruit picking work available at various times throughout the year in Manjimup if you need to earn a bit of cash.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2 hours per day, 5 days a week.


Host ref number: 888899887145