Help build a wooden cabin with reclaimed material, vertical gardening, painting in Brisbane, Australia



Favourited 11 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges


 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We will appreciate handy skilled wwers in timber work, carpentry to finish our backyard cabin and build a deck. Electricity and solar skills very welcomed. 😉

    Hi guys !

    We are a French/Aussie couple in our mid- fifties living in a nice cottage near the Bay in Brighton (BRISBANE) QLD AUSTRALIA with front and back gardens
    Open minded, we like people with can-do attitude, initiative and confidence to self manage themselves.
    We are able to provide you a lot of projects and will be happy to hear yours.
    Our place is not big but very well situated and able to lodge a lot of our projects in self sustainability, permaculture, veggie gardens and creative building projects, garden decoration and artistic upgrades,....
    We are currently focused on building a cabin in our backyard with salvaged materials from demo, carpentry, roofing, plumbing, solar panels, electricity, water catchment for water tanks, dry loo etc.... and upgrading our garden with raised garden beds , chooks coop and many other small and large projects to make our home more comfortable and self sufficient.
    Next big step will be planting fruit trees and creating community gardens in our neighborhood, utilizing public areas where we can grow food and fruit for anybody.......Time to reset guys and think collective and team building>>>> Does that ring a bell for anyone ?

    ...tell us more about your previous experiences .....

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We both have worked many years in corporate business and international environment. We also have been travelling extensively for both work and leisure and living abroad. We speak English, German, French, a bit of Italian, Spanish and Vietnamese. Workawayers will be in contact with other travelers and being able to be part of our local community. Sharing food, stories, experiences and being open minded help cultural exchanges in different languages.
    We like to hear from you and what you can bring to the world, your skills, your projects, what future you like to contribute to our planet and society and why you think you will fit with us ?
    We usually have a common dinner all together 5 days a week, we love these moments where everybody can make a feedback on the past day and prepare the next one with your ideas and the way you like to contribute to our organization.
    Lots of fun here, loads of work, lots of sharing, lots of friendship and love......You will make a lot of great experiences here...
    We are used to this kind of organization , Phily has been on Workaway on his own ....
    Much to tell around a glass of wine together.....

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Actually focused on building our wooden cabin in our backyard in replacement our old sheds ; we have decided to reduce our consumption and space of living to have a better life
    We will be happy to have handy people with skills in carpentry, roofing, electricity, solar energy, permaculture ... and veggie production as we are literally transforming our place....
    Most of it will be autonomous people with initiative and self-management.

    If you are older than 25 , have the sense of responsibility, easy going, able to manage projects on your own and left your ego somewhere else you are mostly welcome, our place is made for you and we will be happy to welcome you
    Here nothing is granted for all, it is a win/win situation we are happy to offer.
    We have house rules that shall be accepted for the best of all of us.
    Should not you fit the requirements we advise you to find a place that fulfill your expectations.

    Phily and Deb

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We provide nice individual, pleasant, comfortable rooms with shared bathroom, a nice garden, 2 bicycles to be used to enjoy the local bike paths and visit the shops and local cafes. Access to the garden and deck, beach is 10 minutes walk away, bus at the corner of the street, as all commodities ; shopping centre, bakery, liquor-shop, butcher, doctor, dentist, pharmacy, fantastic water-sports and kite surf school on the beach, cafes, takeaways and fish and ships . Railway station is 30 minutes by feet (we will be happy to give you a lift when we can). You can access the kitchen when you follow our house rules and we will be happy to taste your cooking specialties and share ours with you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We like to have workawayers to stay 2 weeks minimum with us

    The way we like things being done with RESPECT, CAN DO ATTITUDE, WIN/WIN situation and FLEXIBILITY ;
    We would like ;
    - 5 hours a day help/5 days a week, usually 08.00 am/1.30 pm with 15/30 minutes break around 10.00 am, should the situation need an early job (as we live in a subtropical place, the sun rises between 04.15 am and 05.30 am depending of the season, and the best moment to work starts earlier in summer....) sometimes it is very hot and humid and we need to adjust our working hours
    - Should you wish to finish a project or carry on the one's in progress, you are welcome to continue helping if you like
    - Days off ; usually saturday/sunday or sunday/monday depending of the tasks to achieve ...
    - Respect our place and quietness , we are all living here....
    We provide ;
    Meals can be eaten together or separately, there is no expectations to sit together
    - meals are supplied by us, food is available from fridge and pantry, should you need something special for cooking ask us
    - we are not vegetarian but most of our meals are vegetarian however sometimes we eat meat
    - you are mostly welcome to cook for all of us whenever you want

    Breakfast ; HELP YOURSELF with >>>>Tea/coffee, Cereals, Milk/Toast/Bread, Butter/Jams
    and CLEAN UP

    Lunch ; after morning work is complete- approx 1.30 pm or according schedule
    HELP YOURSELF with >>>>> Bread, salad, veggies, fruits or other things as offered and CLEAN UP together

    DINNER ; 5 days a week. Meals for helping days will be planned and prepared by Phily and Deb with your help to prepare and clean up.

    YOU are expected to prepare one meal per week for dinner, let us know what additional ingredients you need

    FRIDAY evening is usually PIZZA evening- this is "family gathering' and an opportunity for cultural exchange and discuss work and projects together as relax after a busy week

    Beverages are supplied by yourself, we are happy to provide water and natural homemade kefir and kombucha when available

    >>>We do not cook for Workaway guests on days off however food is available for them to prepare their own meals
    Please help yourself and ensure cleaning up is completed before 8.00 pm<<<


    - Laundry is done once per week; please put your sheets, pillow cases & towels each Thuesday, you are free to do a laundry with your own clothes once a week
    - Bathroom is to be kept clean at all times, cleaning is your responsibility and must be done every week as a minimum
    - Kitchen ; rubbish, compost and recycling shall be empty when full
    KItchen must be cleaned after use - per load/unload dishwasher, clean sink, stove/oven, take out rubbish and compost.

    - Bicycles ( with helmets and locker), are available to ride
    - Sea side
    - Kite surf and water sports school
    - Nice Swimming beach 20 minutes away with bicycles
    - Bus and train to go to CBD Brisbane
    - Stradbroke, Moreton, Coochiemooglo Islands 40 minutes away with the ferry from Brissy CBD
    - Glasshouse Mountains trekking and views
    - Sunshine and Gold Coasts are easily accessible 1 hour away from Brighton

    *** If you would like to keep busy on your days off, you are welcome to help on projects you may have started if you feel you would like to***

    ***We do not cook for Workaway guests on days off however food is available for them to prepare their own meals
    Please help yourself and ensure cleaning up is completed before 8.00 pm***

    ***We will be happy you show us your cooking talents and simply bake a cake or whatever you like to share with us***

    ***We welcome your initiative with tasks, cooking, cleaning, having fun and please commence your work with a self managed attitude -do not want to be instructed and feel you are a partner of the family until you become family....;-)

    You may like or do not like what we propose, if you like feel free to contact us and provide useful information about you, give us indications why we should invite you sharing with us....
    If you do not like, I am sure you will find some opportunity more suitable to you

    All the best to you, thank you for taking the time to read here. Will be happy to talk with you.

    Phily and Deb

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Minimum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 888895927265