Help us out with rock picking and gardening in Pohjois-Karjala, Finland

Country

Finland

Favourited 48 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/01/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    163

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello from Finland. We are farming family from Ilomantsi, from country of 1000 lakes. Our family: Joonas farmer and tractor contractor, Kaisa now at home with our young son Miika. We have rent 35 hectares of land what we farm. Our main products are dry hay bales, oat, barley, rye and caraway. Joonas does lot of contracting job with his tractors. We have also average collection of classic tractors from Britain, mainly Nuffield's and Leyland's and we also do lot of farming work with 1960's and 70's farming method's and implements. Our field's are small and they need lot of work. We have also Cat called Nelli. We are nonsmokers so we wanted same from you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are not farm from average farming. We do lot of things another way than others. We have lot of fishing lakes, wild berries to catch up at autumn, lot of forest and natural park with it's trails. Our language is Finnish and if you like to learn basic words or something more with carelian dialect, that is what you get. Joonas try to learn russian language and together we try to learn to talk better english.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    If you like to do work with your hand's at the countryside and you don't fear about getting hand's dirty you are welcome. We have lot of work, very easy: rock picking and marking, our garden needs lot of work right now, or if you understand how to help with tractors and machines maintenance, Joonas need's another pair of hands to help with them. Also forest work we can promise if you like to work at forest's. Kaisa need's help with our home daily maintenance.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    Russian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room in our house with bed for sleeping. We offer full opporturnity to do mainly routines with our family. Our kitchen, wlan, shower and sauna is free to use when ever you need. We offer daily food and you can help us in kitchen or you can if you like, do your own meal's. what ever you want.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Möhkö - Nature, culture and history in the easternmost corner of Finland
    Finland’s easternmost village Möhkö is located in Ilomantsi, close to the border of Russia. Möhkö’s best resources are its local strengths, diverse history, clean nature and the regional culture. Residents of Möhkö welcome all to enjoy the richness of the village’s culture and nature!

    petkeljarvi national park:
    Pine-clad esker ridges formed during the Ice Age rise over pristine blue lakes in this beautiful part of Finland's eastern borderlands, well worth a day trip or a longer stay. Don't miss the lively and picturesque old Karelian village of Möhkö near the park. The colourful history of the area during World War Two is also of interest.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 888537766885