Help us in our small farm, in a little place in Norway!

Country

Norway

Favourited 110 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/09/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a small farm with 3 horses in a lovely little place in Norway. We are Britt (40) and Bård (55). And a little girl, Jenny Mathilde (5). We are working 100% out of the farm, so we need lots of help in the farm.
    We bought this farm a year ago (summer 2017).

    2 of our horses are norwegian dole horse, which is a versatile workinghorse, riding and driving! And a little shetland pony for the little girl. A cat and 2 rabbits.

    This is the first time we try this, so we hope someone out there dare to take the chance. We are not very good in english, but we can learn. We will try to make the day best for everyone!

    Landåsbygda is a small place with a little store (1 km), 500 meters to a lake. Here you can take a bath, calm boat and go fishing. Lots of possibilities hiking range. You can also learn about horses, riding and drive horses.
    You must speak English well.
    To Gjøvik city is it 30 km, to Oslo is it 150 km.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be taking part in other things that may happen on the farm. In the summer (and also winther) we are driving horses on long trips with some friends.
    Here you can experience and get a taste of Norwegian culture and nature, as well as the Norwegian way of life.

    Some of the time you have to work with one of us, Some of the work is easier if you are two.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Some of the help we is: set up fences, paint the house and barn, making a kitchen garden (by using the horses), some carpentry jobs, pick berries (make juice and jam), train the horses and lots of other things. Childcare and cooking is also applicable.

    We have a cabin in Snertingdal about 30 km from Our farm. Here we should have repair fences, make som Wood for the Winther and maybe Paint the cabin. You will live in the cabin. It's near a lake, we have boat and you can Fish, and lots of possibilities hiking gange.

    We need someone who can works alone. Be aware that some of the help may be physically hard.

    If you contact us, please briefly (short) tell us about:
    Why you want to come, when from and how long you can stay. What experience you have in practical work. If you have experience with horses, children and workaway.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can stay in our house (you'll get your own room) or in our caravan.

    You will help 5 hour a day, 5 days a week

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 885149519557