Helpers needed at our family-run Hostel in the delightful Irish seaside town of Kinsale

Country

Ireland

 

Favourited 75 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/10/2019

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a long-running family owned hostel in the beautiful and historic Irish seaside town of Kinsale, County Cork. We cater to backpackers, families, cycle tourers, hikers, and a broad range of other visitors and thus we try to engender as inclusive an atmosphere as possible in the hostel, so that all feel welcome and interact with each other positively and rewardingly in spite of the widely differing motivations that bring people to this delightful corner of the Irish Coast. With 32 beds we are big enough to always require help with the operation of the hostel but small enough that (if you are the right kind of person for this role) you will always remember everybody's name who is staying!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be meeting and looking after not only guests from all around the world, but all types of people of all ages too. Some people come to Kinsale for the History, some for the pubs and gastronomy, others for the walks, still more for sailing, surfing and other sea-based activities - and many only stay for one or two days. in short, its a chance to plant yourself in a melting pot of different people and cultures, all of whom come here to experience different aspects of this still thoroughly Irish town. Its also a chance to immerse yourself in Gaelic culture in a place that retains a more authentic brand of that culture than you are likely to find in the well-known larger cities of Ireland nowadays. Many people also come to Ireland to learn or improve their English, so whether you are a native speaker or not, the more conversation you exchange the more you help people with this goal.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for live-in helpers to join the rest of the team here with cleaning and housekeeping, reception and check-in, running errands and of course interacting and socialising with guests and helping them find what they are looking for in Kinsale and the surrounding area, as well as keeping them entertained! We are also always looking to upgrade and evolve the hostel, and there may be the possibility of helping input ideas into various plans and projects, especially if you have a creative spark. It is VERY IMPORTANT that you are out-going, friendly, amiable, gregarious as well as non-judgemental and not requiring lots and lots of personal space; otherwise you will not enjoy living in a hostel, and you will not be the right kind of person to provide the help we would like!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bed in (non-mixed) dorm along with guests and other helpers. Full access to kitchen, laundry and all hostel facilities.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Kinsale and the surrounding area of West Cork have plenty to divert your attention, whether you want to explore the history and culture (or language) of Ireland more deeply, perfect your English, cycle out through the beautiful countryside to a different castle each time or get involved in the surfing/sailing/swimming communities here; Kinsale is not a large town, but there is plenty of reasons to stick around - some people might find it therapeutically laid-back and slow-paced, others might find it lively and hectic with a real buzz through much of the year - it depends where you are coming from and your recent circumstances! But if you dont find yourself naturally hanging out with other guests even in your free time sometimes - then maybe this role isn't right for you!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 884461427173