Come and experience living in the outback! Coonabarabran, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 67 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/01/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We offer the opportunity to experience real farming in the beautiful outback. We are the Estate Winery located in a lovely small town called Coonabarabran. The main focus in the company are the racehorses. The owner is a 76-year old, easy going and very kind man. He's very welcoming and makes you feel at home! On the farm there is also one female paid worker between the age of 18-30. Together with her, the boss and his family you will have great new experiences around here! We have around 7 horses that need lots of attention and around 8 others that need a bit less. Also, on the enormous property there are cows, cats (kittens!) and there is one awesome dog! We have a winery, ocasionally have some tasks there too. You will have to help around five hours per day. Having two days of every week. Minimum stay of one month.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Benefits here:
    -We attend horse races almost every two weeks. If interested you could come with to experience the atmosphere!
    -Experienced riders get the opportunity to ride!
    -Occasional wine making/(tasting ;)
    -There is a big swimming pool available for you to use.
    -Experience the real farm life in the outback.
    -Gain experience for your future farm work.
    -Great scenery and nice people.
    -Lots of animals around
    -Experience different cultures and improve your English skills.

  • Help

    Help

    Possible things we need help with are domestic chores, maintenence help (cleaning up the sheds, helping with the animal-care), walking the dog.. If you are experienced working with tractors there is work with that too. Help can be anything we need help with as only if it's within reach of the willing visitor.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be living in a big cute house with the owner and the paid worker. You have your own room with a big bed and enough room for your stuff. A big bathroom will be available for you (including a bathtub), you only have to share it with the girl living here. The surroundings here are beautiful, you are free to go wherever you like. Lifts to town are available if you don't have a car. When you arrive we can come pick you up at the AirPort! WiFi is available in the house (bad reception around) and in the library in town.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Coonabarabran (Coona) is a town in NSW. It is the closest town to the Siding Spring Observatory, which is home to the 3,9-metre Anglo-Australian Telescope (Largest telescope in Australia). Coona is the astronamy capital of Australia! Also, it's the gateway to the Warrumbungle National Park and the Pilliga Forest. We have a warm subtropical climate, with hot summers and cool winters. There is a lot to see and do. The girl that lives here can join you on adventures and exploring.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Around 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 882852599412