Help on our family farm in Dýrafjordur, Iceland

Country

Iceland

Favourited 981 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/03/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    302

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 30 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I Jón live with my wife Elsa María. We have twins and two other daughters and two grandchildren, they do not live at home anymore but come to visit and help around when they can. We have around 50 cattle. 250 sheep, two dogs, a few hens and a cat.

    Elsa María works off the farm in Ísafjörður as a special education director in kindergarten.

    We live in the West-fjords of Iceland in a fjord named Dýrafjordur. It is 18 km to the next town and the weather is never the same.....

    You would have to be willing to work outdoors, mending fences, feed cattle help harvesting and other tasks that comes our way, sometimes even unusual hours....

    We are also trying to fix a house that we have and would like to rent out in tourism

    We are looking for someone that is willing to stay with us for at least 3 months... :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The benefit of staying with us is you learn how to respect the nature, animals and get to know Iceland in a special and unik way. Get to know how our farm life is and hopefully you make life long friends.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    In the winter the animals stay inside. We need someone that can help us with feeding and cleaning around the animals.

    In the spring time the sheep have there lambs and they need to be fed, taken care of and helped if needed. when the snow melts, we start mending fences.

    In the summer the sheep wander around the mountains with there lambs freely, but the cattle needs to be fed. Harvesting time starts.

    In the autumn we need to get the sheep home from the mountains (which is a lot harder and more fun that it sounds). Feeding and taking care of sheep, and feeding cattle.

    Be a friend :)

    We need somebody that would stay 3 months or even longer with us and experience Icelandic farming, unik landscape and lifestyle.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a room in our home. Full access to our home and family-life.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Here is beautiful landscape, mountains to walk on. Short to the next swimming pool... you will get to know one of the northest places in the world. Over the winter time there is lots of snow and northern lights travelling is difficult.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

















Host ref number: 882816155973