Help us sort out our family house on the outskirts of Kitchener (near Toronto).

Country

Canada

Favourited 118 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! I'm Tony. I am 60, a retired symphony musician (cellist). Now I drive tractor-trailers. I am a widower. My 19 year-old son Misha and I live on a small country property on the southern edge of Kitchener-Waterloo, Ontario, near the intersection of Highway 401 and Homer Watson Blvd., about 3km west of Conestoga College, about an hour west of Toronto. The property is in an idyllic and peaceful setting, but has become rundown and is in poor condition. We wish to sell it and need help in getting this done. We are 15 minutes by car from downtown Kitchener. The city bus is a short walk or bike ride. We have bikes for the use of Workawayers.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a fairly mainstream Canuck. Kitchener is in the heart of southern Ontario and is a lively cultural centre. It is surrounded by wonderful farmland much of which is still worked by Mennonite families who have been here for many generations. The Six Nations Reserve is close by (one of the biggest communities of indigenous peoples in Canada). There are lots of cultural activities of interest there. Toronto is nearby and is a cosmopolitan city of several millions. The Great Lakes define the geography and climate of this part of North America. They are magnificent freshwater inland seas, of course.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help organizing and executing a plan for our property/chattels (house , barn and land/cars, tractors, tools, household effects, other miscellany) to get it/them ready for sale and put it/them on the market.

    Someone skilled in administrative organization would be a huge help. Craigslist, Kijiji, or other Classified Ad sales experience a big plus. Familiarity and experience with Real Estate transactions would be great, of course. Mechanical aptitude would also be great. A couple maybe?

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have your own bedroom(s) and would share the rest of the house with Misha and me.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Kitchener-Waterloo, Cambridge, and Guelph are great towns to visit with a nice balance of rural and urban. We're only 45 minutes from Toronto International Airport and not much further from downtown Toronto. Niagara Falls is less than two hours drive. Kitchener is on the banks of the Grand River, roughly equidistant from the Great Lakes; Ontario, Erie, Huron, and Georgian Bay.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours, 5 days

Misha and me 2002
The house and barn from the back yard before the addition was demolished and re-built with a 2nd story.
Addition under construction.
Me. Now. March, 2016.
Nancy, Misha, and me, 2011
Me and Nancy, 2006
Me and Nancy 2011
The tired old barn seen from a bedroom window.












Host ref number: 878965388234