1 / 5

Help our family with daily life in the beachside town of Whitianga, New Zealand

  • New Zealand
  • Favourited 93 times
  • Last activity: 8 Dec 2023



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    Working married couple in mid 30s with a 8 year old girl, a 4 year old boy, dogs, a cat, chickens and ducks.

    Brent works full time as a builder, Tarah works from home running a small on site dog boarding kennels/doggy daycare, online shop plus does dog training lessons and classes.

    We live in a beachside town on 1.5 acres surrounded by a dairy farm just 5 minutes drive from town. From here you can easily visit Cathedral Cove, Hot Water Beach, New Chums Beach and much much more! We have had homestays before and love having visitors and helping them plan their time here :)

    We love the outdoors, including hunting, fishing, diving, visiting the beach, site seeing, walking our dogs and more.

    We would love to open up our home for you and show you around our beautiful area and help you plan some great day trips.

    Ideally you will love children and animals, and be comfortable around dogs.

    Jobs could include, property maintenance (i.e. cleaning, gardening), domestic duties (cooking, cleaning), dog kennel work and more. Plus website/ecommerce if you had those skills :)

    We both lead busy lives and it would be most appreciated if our helper also offered to help with daily tasks of running a house (i.e. cooking/dishes/playing with our children)

    Wifi available :)
    No smokers please

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Happy to share activities/suggest things to do for the Coromandel region and provide a friendly and conveniently located homestay 😃

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Home and property maintenance - such as cleaning, weeding, tidying, playing with the kids and dogs.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Japanese: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    We supply food but if you can help with dinner/dishes that would be most appreciated. The bedroom is our sons bedroom, he will sleep in his sisters bedroom. It is a small room and has a king single bed. The room is best suited to a single person however there is a bed underneath that we can pull up if required.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have a document with site seeing activities that I can give/send 😊

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Vehicles under 3 tonne (3000kg) only and not too wide as we have a small bridge that needs crossing to get in to our property. Best suited for vans or small motorhomes. We don’t have space for caravans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Appx 4 hours per day, this can be done at 8 hours a day then have the next day off - we are very flexible

Host ref number: 876689625951

Feedback (5)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help with some garden projects in the sunny Bay of Islands in the far north of New Zealand
Help us with some refurbishment, childcare and in our vineyard, an hour from Wellington, New Zealand