Help us settle in to our new family home and garden near Paris in Pontoise, France

Country

France

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 33 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi You! We are a family of 4: freshly arrived baby Romy who's 7 months old - her big sister Nora who's 4 years old and their lucky parents Thomas and Helene. Thomas is a Physical Education teacher in a nearby high school and Helene is Talent Manager and Coach in an international organization (you will ask her what's behind that as you meet her ;)

    We live in the city of Pontoise, which is in the Paris area, it takes about 45min by car to get to Paris and 45min by train. We moved recently to a new house which is in a very quiet part of the city, next to many forest trails. Important: It takes 30min walk to go to the station (to go to Paris), sometimes we can drop you at the station with our car. There are trains every 20-30min to go to Paris. We can share with you an electric bike to go around (you can also board the train with the bike)

    We have traveled and lived and worked abroad: two years in India, three years in the USA (Nora is born in USA). We speak fluently English and Helene can speak some Spanish too. We love meeting new people, share about places, cultural habits, foreign food, etc. We prefer homemade food so we cook a lot and we often try new recipes. We eat vegetarian food most of the time and some non-veg food time-to-time. We don't work on weekends and on Wednesday either.

    Would you have any questions, do not hesitate to ask, we look forward to hearing from your trip,

    Warmly, Romy-Nora-Thomas-Helene

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You're welcome to share our family life: cooking together, sharing meals, picking the kids from the school or from the nanny, going to parks and trains on the week-ends, coming with us as we visit family and friends, etc. We like to go to the weekly market to pick up bread, fruits, etc. We enjoy going to fairs and festivals. We have done a lot of hosting travellers in the past and is always a pleasure to meet people from different horizons!

  • Help

    Help

    What are we looking for in our guests? someone who can simply help us with our daily life with two young kids (let's be honest, it can be overwhelming sometimes!) there are different ways to help us :

    - Helping with daily life: cooking, playing with Nora, simply rocking baby Romy, speaking different languages to the kids, cleaning up the kitchen after dinner, folding the laundry, going for groceries, etc.

    - If you are handy: We moved to our house 3 weeks before the birth of Romy, and even if we did some renovation work before getting in, there's still a lot to do in our house... painting, removing some old tiles from the walls, adding some shelves here and there, removing wallpaper... and we have simply not enough time to do that stuff... so if you like transforming a house, we would love to have your help.

    - If you prefer gardening, there's some work in the garden... though it is small, it was quite abandoned for many years and we would like to make it more welcoming and kid-friendly: weeding, planting vegetables, building some sheds. Also, it is a terrasse garden so we are thinking about how to level it to make it more functional/practical...

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    If you're joining our family, you will have your own bedroom (18m2) and bathroom (there may some unpacked boxes in there but we will do our best to leave minimum stuff possible). It is furnished with an HEMNES daybed (for 1 or 2 people). It has a beautiful view from the window. It is on the first floor, next to the other bedrooms.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You are 1h-1h30 from Paris, so there's plenty of stuff to visit there. We are not going much to Paris nowadays but are happy to do some visits there with you on time to time basis (and Nora loves going there as well!) We are close to the Vexin National Park and there are many hiking trails there. We are next to Auvers sur Oise, famous for Van Gogh and other impressionist paintings. Pontoise itself is a city with Middle Age heritage.

    Omportant: It takes 30min walk to go to the station (to go to Paris), sometimes we can drop you at the station with our car. There are trains every 20-30min to go to Paris. We can share with you an electric bike to go around (you can also board the train with the bike)

    Note: Helene's breastfeeding Romy so you must be OK with that to live with us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 4 days a week


Host ref number: 876259312177