Help with gardening and DIY in Cobh in Cork harbour, Ireland

  • Favourited 26 times
  • Last activity: 4 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are Patrick (87) and Daniela (33) living near the town of Cobh in Cork harbour. We have two cats and about 70 quail hens. (Patrick is a retired artist.) We try to grow as many vegetables and fruit as we can in our garden, which is about three quarters of an acre, with a stream at the bottom of the garden and a field with cattle (not ours) on the other side.

    ~ Our next availability is between 18th June and 12th July.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Daniela is from Germany but is more Irish than German by now! Patrick is from England but has lived in Ireland for most of his life. He has had a long and varied career as botanical artist, which brought him to many different places in the world. He has a lot of interesting stories to tell if you are interested!

  • Help

    Help

    We mainly need help with gardening and DIY projects. Bring your wellie boots!
    This year, we particularly need help with building fences, cutting hedges and wood, planting, harvesting, weeding, etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation will be in our small guest room, or you can camp in the garden if you prefer. We only have one bathroom in the house, so this will be shared by all of us. No TV, but internet and a DVD player.
    We eat mostly vegetarian or fish, and very little to no meat. Vegan is also possible as we don't eat much dairy, although we usually have lots of yummy quail eggs available. We are quite happy to try out foods from your country if you like cooking, but this is totally optional! Most of our food is home cooked and home baked, including our bread.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live about 20 minutes walk away from Cobh town, which has both a train and a bus to Cork city, and gives you lots of options for day trips. Cobh itself is quite a popular tourist town too, and has several pubs with occasional live music. You may also borrow our bikes or kayak. The beach is about 40 minutes walk away.
    We live only 5 minutes walk from the nearest supermarket.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 875768889578

Feedback


Join our little family on the Wild Atlantic Way and help with fun DIY and garden projects in Connemara Ireland
Join our family in the countryside near Midleton, Co. Cork, Ireland