updated  

Join a family with their exciting new community permaculture project in Spaxton, UK

  • United Kingdom
  • Favourited 130 times
  • Last activity: 22/01/2023

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Do you have experience of, or an interest in permaculture design or biodynamic farming?

    An exciting new permaculture project, my family and I have a dream of creating a community permaculture garden.

    Starting from scratch with nothing but 5 acres of grassy field in the Somerset village of Spaxton, the family consists of Grandad (John, residing in the farm house, likes growing tomatoes in his greenhouse) Amanda (me, passion for nature and growing stuff,) Anthony (brother, loves sustainability and getting his hands dirty,) Gavin (brother, loves the heavy lifting,) and Pete (my partner, a plumber, loves to spend his time building things and finding solutions.)

    Together, we are embarking on this new project to be able to sustain ourselves from the land, to increase biodiversity as much as possible, to help people find joy and love in their life and to bring the local community together.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers can learn English language (Amanda speaks French, Spanish and some German,) learn about permaculture, farming, building and we will also organise trips to events from time to time, for example to the summer solstice at Stone Henge.

    There are so many local places to visit in Somerset! We are 3 miles from the Quantock Hills for hiking, or for more ideas, check out the somerset-life website.

    It's a small village that only has a small community shop, a village hall and a pub, that's it! We therefore recommend that volunteers have their own transport if they plan to explore / need access to town as there is no public transport that comes to the village.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Help from travellers can be varied and chosen based on what you wish to contribute but is mainly gardening & work in the field & polytunnel

    Our current projects for workawayers include:
    Weeding & harvesting (weeding is a big part of what we do - so volunteers need to be prepared to do a lot of it!)
    Develop new vegetable beds using a no-dig method
    Develop the food forest
    Seed propagation
    General tidying & prettying of gardens
    Look after chickens
    Decoration (painting signs and artwork)

    Longer term volunteers could work on bigger projects:
    Creating meditation spaces
    Building wooden buildings for compost toilets & showers

    We are particularly keen to hear from people who have knowledge and passion for permaculture, biodiversity and community. If not, then some experience of gardening would be very helpful.

    When you get in touch, please do mention in your email what kind of tasks you'd be most interested in doing when you come to stay. This is how we check you've actually read our profile!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I love learning languages!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation can only be provided in tents at the moment, so please only apply if you're up for that! Tents, camp/air beds, sleeping bags, blankets etc can be provided if you don't have your own (please let us know in advance what you need so we can prepare it for you.)

    Workawayers are also welcome to stay in their own tents /camper vans on the land. You will have access to outdoor toilets and the bathroom inside the farmhouse for showers / baths.

    When you contact us, please include in your email that you're happy to be outdoors and stay in a tent.

    You can help yourself to breakfast and lunch from food provided and a group vegetarian dinner will be provided (if you like cooking, then making dinner could be part of your volunteering hours!)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Check out :

    We can sometimes offer lifts to and from town on Wednesdays and Thursdays and occasionally on other days.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Campervans can be accepted when the gound is dry enough to permit - probably from around April to September.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Well behaved pets welcome. No dogs that jump up at people as we have people who are vulnerable to being knocked over.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 hours / week (flexible to what times you like to work)

Host ref number: 875447343984

Feedback (8)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Experience the Lake District and help with pet-sitting in beautiful, Wigton, UK
Happy outdoor types to help with glamping site in the beautiful Cotswolds, UK