Outback Adventure Awaits to the right workawayers in South Australia.

Country

Australia

Favourited 194 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Outback adventure on 1 million acres 450km south of Alice Springs and 250km north of Coober Pedy. We are a family owned & operated cattle station. Looking for a single person or couple for long-term stay after initial 2 week trial. Paid work available by negotiation for the right people. We are friendly people who understand the value of having someone willing to have a go. We are always happy to share our knowledge & experience with those willing to learn.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Teaching

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    A genuine outback experience with a warm and friendly family. We've had visitors from Germany, Denmark, Italy, USA & the UK. We work hard, and are willing to share our lifestyle and our home with anyone who shares our work ethic.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Work includes gardening, construction, concreting, stock work & general duties around the homestead like painting and shifting furniture. I may also require help with watching the children (don't worry - I don't expect you to have them 24/7) and some help around the house during school terms is great too - as I teach both children through Alice Springs School of the Air. If you have a special skill I might ask you to share it with my children as an educational opportunity for them.
    Anyone with any practical skills or a trade would be highly valued. The work will be physical, demanding and in a very remote area.

    Couples who are willing to cook & clean for themselves, in addition to carrying out other duties are welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Semi self-contained (queen bed, tv, air con) separate to our house accommodation for 2 with shower/toilet. TV & DVD player in cabin. Shared meat based meals. Vegetarians would starve to death here.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in a very remote area and you need to be really sure you want to come here before you leave civilisation. Interested visitors are encouraged to ask any questions they might have. I have 3 children aged 11, 6 & 18 months. I teach both older children through school of the air, I volunteer as an ambulance officer and am on several community-based committees. Volunteering is a way of life to use and expect our visitors to come along and help too. If this sounds like something that you will find difficult to cope with, it would be best if you didn't visit.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day




Host ref number: 874678183755