Looking to renovate a beautiful old mont in the hills outside Tavira in the Algarve, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 95 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    165

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there, I have recently bought and am slowly renovating a beautiful old mont in the hills outside Tavira (20min by car) or Vila Nova de Cacela (10mins by car) in the Algarve where you can see the sea from the other side of the house although I am 15/20 minutes by car to the coast/beaches.
    The views are stunning around here and there are several walks which have an amazing range of flora and fauna aswell as the views. Tavira itself is a really lovely town set on a river with a couple of old Roman bridges and there are some great places to hang out. It's also slightly less touristy than much of the Algarve towards Faro and beyond and is very close to Spain. You can take boat trips to the islands and swim in the lagoons surrounded by beautiful clean beaches or nearby here there is a lake that not many people frequent even in summer.
    I am an artist with a teaching and fine art background and I'm interested in mindful ways of living, growing vegetables, the community and wildlife.
    My goal is to have a residence for artists and I have almost completed the rooms here for artists to stay and work although taking care of the place needs more than one pair of hands and finishing anything in the Algarve is very very slow for many reasons here.
    I also have a small orchard set in under half an acre with mainly medronhos, peach trees, some figs and almond trees but I have in fact about 20 different types of trees here. I have a vegetable garden and many flowers and tubs left by the previous owners who live nearby. I also have some chickens and a very amusing cat.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about the surrounding areas and traditions, experience traditional foods/markets, swim in one of the nearby lakes or the sea (perhaps not in winter) and as I speak only basic Portuguese I could teach some basics to get by if needed. I would also like to share with others all the things that I have learned since deciding to buy a place here...I could write a books on it for sure!
    I practice yoga a couple of times a week at the moment and would like to do more really...I meditate mindfully on occasion and also would like to do more...there's just so many things to juggle here though.
    I have travelled a lot in my life and have many stories to exchange with others.

  • Help

    Help

    I need someone who can help to rebuild an old wall in the garden and weeding/taking care of the garden so I need someone who is practical and fit with some knowledge of these processes and in good health. Those with a background in building of any sort would be most welcome. Someone creative would be great but I guess at this stage it doesn't matter.
    I would share my kitchen, provide mainly vegetarian meals but it would be nice to experience someone else's cooking skills too sometime. I have an outside oven and BBQ which have been in use and just so you know I was a volunteer for 6 months on workaway the year before last and I had many good experiences but working 4-5 hours per day is sufficient depending on the work.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, simple Portuguese but understand more.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room and share the kitchen and bathroom with the main house.
    I provide home cooked healthy vegetarian meals mainly though occasional fish. I can cater to gluten free but very complex or specific diets people will need to take their own things here. Tavira is 20 minutes away by car and the nearest village is 2km so you need to take what you need to begin with. I have a couple of bikes but drivers are very welcome to use my car if they can show careful driving skills. The weather is now is hot in the day and cool in the evening and morning but it could get hotter.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are so many things to do in and around the Algarve from beach visits, the islands across from the mainland, local markets, bird watching, there are many events and guides from the tourist information... it depends on your interests. Also Spain is close by for a day visit or longer.
    As far as I am aware there is a bus service nearby (although infrequent) but I usually go to Tavira or another smaller town twice a week plus I have 2 bikes.
    There is a cafe nearby about 2km away or less and 2 restaurants about 4km away that serve traditional decent meals.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

5 minute walk from house with stunning views..
Vegetable garden.
The Orchard


Host ref number: 873833483137