1 / 4

Volunteers for local culture and heritage non-profit in Clonbur, Ireland

  • Favourited 200 times
  • Last activity: 9 Jun 2024



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    Who We Are:
    Our registered charity supports culture, heritage, the Irish language, and the arts. We are housed in a repurposed 1860s gothic stone church, nestled at the foot of two wonderful hillwalking locations, and between Lough Corrib and Lough Mask, in the West of Ireland. We have been a destination for fishing for at least 200 years, an area rich in deep history and culture of Ireland, scattered with castles, ruins, woodlands and lakes, sheep, and cows.

    We are seeking creative, enthusiastic and independent people with who would like to help us grow into a centre of excellence for creative and heritage practices connecting artists, performers, craftspeople, authors, and academics with their audiences in a relationship that benefits creators and community mutually. We are an all-volunteer organization. We have a busy calendar of high-quality programmes and experiences that nurture practice development, engagement, and access to heritage, Irish language, culture, and the arts.

    Our location simply cannot be beat for absolute beauty of the huge lakes, the inviting hills, the open green fields, and the many historic ruins. You have easy access to swimming, cycling, hiking, socializing in pubs, and with some preplanning, venturing out via public transportation to the wider sites and attractions of Ireland.
    We look forward to meeting you and sharing the peaceful beauty that is Western Ireland.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Being part of our Culture and Heritage Centre will give you the opportunity to meet local artists, writers, musicians, crafts people, heritage practitioners – and our wonderful local community here in the west of Ireland.
    The Heritage Centre holds several meetings a month for Writers, Artists, etc. You are welcome to attend these if you have a writing or artistic practice. There are many Art Exhibits, literary, Irish language, heritage, and musical events scheduled through the year.

  • Help


    Help Required June 2024:

    Do you enjoy cooking and have good typing speed? We are building a cookbook for a fundraising and language awareness project and could use your help! Did you know that there are almost no modern Irish Language cookbooks? One of the tests of a viable language is being able conduct the daily tasks of living in the language. Our cookbook project will support the use of Irish language in the home, and raise some much needed funds for building renovations. You do not need to speak Irish, as the first draft is in English then will be translated by an expert team. Come spend some time in the beautiful West of Ireland, on a 'delicious' and fun project that helps sustain the Irish language!

    We ask 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week from our Workaway helpers. Our day starts at 9:30 am, leaving you lots of afternoon and evening to enjoy our beautiful surroundings.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have a clean, bright, and welcoming home with a separate clean, neatly furnished self- catering apartment on our property for Helpers. It is suitable for one person, or a couple. You will have your own kitchen and bathroom, but are also welcome to join us for meals. There is wifi, clothes washer and dryer as well as clothesline, bicycles, kayaks for the walking-distance lakes (good swimming!), and you are welcome to go along to the gigs where my husband plays music in pubs 2-3 nights a week.

    You will be expected to keep your rooms, kitchen, and bathroom clean and neat, and clean them prior to leaving, so they are tidy for the next Helper, but you will not be asked to share in the general cleaning of the house or grounds.
    We are a non-smoking household, no smoking or vaping is permitted on our property.
    Our accommodations are for one person or a couple, there is one bed in the bedroom, and plenty of storage for your things. We cannot host any pets or children.

    We live as sustainably as possible, making all our own soaps, shampoos, laundry soaps, hand creams, etc. (I used to own a handmade soaps and cosmetics company). We forage and preserve the bountiful fruits around us in season, and grow as much of our other fruits and veg as possible. We keep a small flock of hens for their eggs. If you are interested in learning to make as much of your own foods as possible, this is the place for you! We make our own bread, yogurt, cheeses, pasta, jams, jellies, cordials, the list is long. You will eat delicious, healthy, freshly made food from an international cuisine. We are omnivores but have spent years as vegetarians, so are open to varied life choices around foods.
    We are a very creative family, artists, musicians, crafting, sailing, kayaking, and caravan camping – activities we would be happy to share with you! There is a lot of music in our house (do you play? join in!) We try to have at least a half day for painting and art every week.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a small village with store, award winning bakery/coffee shop, bus stop, and three pubs 1.7 km from the house. We are 50 minutes from Galway City, 25 minutes from a moderately large village, 45 minutes from Castlebar, 45 minutes from Claremorris (nearest train station) 50 minutes from Westport, 3 hours from Dublin.
    Ireland is a country of moderate weather, generally on the cool side. You will need layers even in summer, and an absolute requirement is rain gear. You must have footwear for rainy weather (wellies are good). With the proper outerwear, Ireland is enjoyable most days, with some intermittent stormy weather or rainy patches. Expect some short rain showers most days, that then clear to bright crisp days. We often have days where it mists lightly all day. That’s where all the rainbows come from!
    It stays light in Ireland until 10 pm or later during the middle of summer, gets dark at around 4 in winter, so we tend to work to use the light when it’s there. We will encourage you to use the long days to explore the beauty of our area, soak up some culture, and learn about Ireland.
    You are welcome to stay with us over the weekends, but if you prefer to travel, we can help you get to public transportation, with sufficient notice and as long as it does not conflict with our other obligations.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Stable internet connection. We both spent over 20 years in high-tech, so understand the digital work life.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 872239556625

Feedback (3)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)

Join our young, fun family in rural Galway, Ireland
Welcoming help with my cats and dogs as well as in the garden in Skibbereen, West Cork, Ireland