Help us around our family home and some DIY projects while exploring the nature and learning some Norwegian in Flatanger, Norway

  • Norway
  • Favourited 34 times
  • Last activity: 22 Sep 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    We Sebastian (43) and Ewa (45) - both from Germany, are 2 entrepreneurs who live in a small quiet home in beautiful Flatanger. We live here with our son who will be starting school this August and loves nature - especially fishing and and playing soccer or riding his bike.
    Sebastian is a fishing guide/host and carpenter and runs our company, Ewa is an artist / coach / mom and works in the office. We have very busy lives, but in free time we love sports, fishing, game evenings, good food, sauna, and really enjoy the little time we have as a family.
    Our home is right by the beach and in the middle of nowhere where it is very quiet and peaceful, in autumn you can see the northern lights from your terrace and in the summer the nights are just as light as day time. It is very peaceful here but always something to do like kayaking, hiking, bike riding, fishing :) . You might NEED a car while staying here!!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have enough free time to explore the beautiful nature of Flatanger, learn some Norwegian, English or polish or German with us. Learn also a lot about fishing, art and enjoy a busy but very loving and caring family and business life. WE love cooking local fish and enjoy cooperating into the meals what we find in the nearby forest like mushrooms and berries.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We would love to have someone supporting us , so that we can have more family time and more free time to spend with our son.
    A couple or two friends but of course also somebody traveling alone is/are very welcome.
    We live very remote, maybe being two makes it a bit easier since we are often busy in the main season from April to October : )

    English and/or German language skills are required. As mentioned we need help in all common chores around the house and with some DIY or building projects. We also have an outside area to be taken care of and two lovely cats ;) . We try to spend a lot of time outdoors but also enjoy cozy game evenings and good food - we both have a passion for cooking but not enough time ;). We would also love for someone to help us prepare healthy meals and keep the house and area tidy.

    There are also some small projects that need to be finished like painting a wooden door, tidying up a garage where a helping hand would be lovely.
    Nearest bigger city is a 1,5 h car drive :) No bars or restaurants near by :) - we do not accept smoking or drinking/parties.
    A small grocery shop is 6 km away and a lit bigger one about 18 km.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Norwegian: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    A separate 2 bedroom flat on the top floor, with own kitchen and bathroom and good wifi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Great for hiking, mountain biking, fishing spots ;)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Good wifi :) and a proper working areawith a big desk.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Enough parking space and electricity provided outside.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week, food often provided

Host ref number: 567289248363


Dutch/ Norwegian family looking for help with our garden and home in Harstad, Norway
Help out with our huskies in Tufsingdalen, Norway