Country life on a small farm immersed in wild nature in Lajatico, Tuscany, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 319 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young couple (38 and 31) living in the Tuscan countryside since 4 years.
    We work part time at the computer and part time outdoors. We have a small farm with olive trees, hemp, saffron, fruit and vegetable garden, then there's woods, a small lake and a small agriturismo (B&B).
    We've finished 1 year renovation and moved in the house end of summer 2018. The house is on a hill among the woods - quiet, very isolated and with an amazing view.
    We need help on the fields: bush clean up, wood chopping, maintenance, managing the garden and plants, harvesting etc. We have a tractor, but we do a lot of hard works by hand.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are an architect and a digital marketer who moved to the countryside and away from Milan a couple years ago.

    By staying with us you most probably get a good feeling of what living in the Tuscan countryside means: extraordinary skies and sunsets, homegrown italian food and many other beautiful things. It also means hard work, sore hands and arms, wild nature, silence and isolation.

    You will share our lifestyle and activities during your stay. Help and learn to take care of the vegetable and fruit garden, and outdoor and indoor maintenance of our home.

    We often have friends visiting and we host parties every now and then. We've travelled a lot around the world and are happy to share experiences and meet other travellers.

    You can check our Instagram profile to get a sneak peak of life here- ask us for the username

    Workawayers who come to stay with us are not employees. You will help with all the tasks and hard work that living in the country side requires and help with all daily tasks related.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Help includes anything on the farm and house.
    > on the fields: clean and cut trees and bushes, chop woods, dig the soil for new plants, harvest fruits and vedgetables, move stuff (woods, vases, etc), build or fix structures (eg. chicken house, vineyard poles etc)
    > in the house: general house keeping and cleaning, help cook, building or fixing furniture, building new architectures (cabin, shed, garage, etc).

    It is mainly physical labour, it can be tough but all the work is manageable if you are fit or practice some sport.


    We live in an isolated place, which makes it very unique because you feel immersed into nature, but it can feel lonely if you are not used to it. You'll love it if you are a person who enjoys alone time and entertains with outdoors activities into nature.

    We also have our own jobs (architect and digital marketer) so we do spend time during the day in the studio with our laptops and wifi. Some days you might take care of your tasks by yourself after being instructed on how to do them.

    *Seasonal major activities*
    Spring (Mar-Jun): cut trees and bushes, clean up fields, building stuff, planting new crops
    Summer (Jul-Aug): harvest fruit and vegetables, cook and bottle preserves
    Autumn (Sept-Nov): hemp harvest (few days), saffron harvest (early morning for a week), olive harvest (10 days full time end October), packaging and bottling, wood chopping, cut trees and bushes.
    Winter: we usually travel and do not need help but feel free to write we might need a extra hand!

    Workawayers who come to stay with us are not employees and do not take in part in the "business" work. You will help with all the tasks and hard work that living in the country side requires and help with all daily tasks related.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers are welcome to stay in one of the guest rooms in the house. The house is newly renovated with all comforts. Here you can see photos:
    If the house is full we have an independent caravan close to the house (interiors newly renovated, shared toilet with shower inside the house)

    We expect guests to keep the room clean and tidy - we've put a lot of hard work in the renovation and care deeply for our home, please respect that.

    You might share the room/caravan with another workaway traveler. Please let us know in advance if there's a problem with that.

    Please note that the house is 5km from the nearest town (you can check on Google maps Agricola Ombra in Lajatico). The road for the large part is a dirt road and there is no public transport.
    We do drive to town every couple days and you are welcome to get a ride. Lajatico it's a small town with just a few food shops, a restaurant and one bar.

    We provide food for 3 meals a day - breakfast, lunch and dinner drinks excluded. When you join us for meals you are expected to help out. We are not vegan nor vegetarian and we eat mainly local or homegrown food. If you are on a special diet we will try to provide suitable ingredients.

    In summer season in Tuscany there is water shortage, so we must avoid its waste, and it's very hot.

    In the house live two sweet (and big) dogs and two cats.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    From the farm there are many trekking tours and natural attractions (waterfalls, ponds, windmills, etc).
    We are 5 km from Lajatico, the nearest town - which is famous for hosting Teatro del Silenzio and Bocelli's yearly concert.

    Beach is 45 minutes drive away. By car you can visit all main attractions of Tuscany:
    Volterra - 20 min drive
    San Giminiano - 20 min drive
    Pisa - 40 min drive
    Florence - 1 hr drive
    Lucca - 1 hr drive
    Siena - 2 hr drive

    We can help rent a bike or car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Internet connection is not guaranteed but it works, Caterina works remotely for a tech company.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have 2 cats and 2 dogs, both female, well behaved, they do have a strong character but get along well with other dogs. Let us know in advance if you are travelling with dogs so that we can discuss it beforehand!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    around 5 hours per day, 5 days a week (depending on the season)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 869865412486