Help in the house and child minding in Lapland, Sweden

Country

Sweden

updated  

Favourited 248 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    89.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    At the moment we are mainly looking for someone to stay 3-4 weeks during the period mid Oct to mid Dec. After mid Dec we will go on vacation, but there is a possibility to stay as a house and dog sitter (normal workaway routines until we leave).

    We are a family of four, living in Lapland, in the north of Sweden. We have a daughter and a son, 8 and 5 years old. We also have a 6 month old dog (Norrbottenspets).

    In general, we mainly need help with normal household chores, such as cleaning and cooking (maybe baking bread also). We will also be in need of minding the kids sometimes, why we think it is important that you have some experience of that. If you know some Swedish, it is a plus.

    We hope to give you an experience of Swedish Lapland - the nature, our food, culture, our everyday life - and activities according to the season!
    Both me (the mum) and my husband are working. My husband works away 1-2 weeks non-stop at a time in another town, and is then off work 1-2 weeks in between. I work Mon-Fri. Our kids go to the nursery/school 5 days per week.

    We live in the small town of Jokkmokk (2500 inhabitants), where the kids' nursery and my job is.

    We sometimes stay weekends in our holiday house, which is located in a very small remote mountain village (15 inhabitants), about 1,5 hours from Jokkmokk.

    We live close to nature and love being outside when we can, for example taking walks, or at winter going cross country skiing, making short snowmobile trips and cook over the fire.

    We enjoy sharing our easy going life style - which can of course also be hectic at times sice we have small kids and are working. We love food and cook healthy and eat locally sourced moose, reindeer and fish, and vegetables with it.

    In your spare time, you have plenty of opportunities to explore the beautiful forests and mountains around us (walking in summertime, and cross-country skiing in wintertime). Since we have relatively small kids, we might not be able to join you on your explorations. But we can promise you that we will assist you so you can go out in your free time.

    The experience is suited if you can recognize yourself as a person who:
    -Enjoy your own company and doing things on your own from time to time.
    But still sociable.
    -Appreachiate nature life and wilderness.
    -Don't need city pulse to get your heart beat going.
    -Know how to clean.
    -Know how to cook basic dishes.
    -Are self-going and can identify what needs to be done
    -It is a plus if you have some experience of small children.
    -Used to the noise from small children ;-)

    If you are this person please apply now!

    3-4 weeks is a good length to stay but shorter or longer may also be possible.

    Welcome!
    Maya & Perra

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you are interested, you may:
    -Improve your level of Swedish, or learn some Swedish words. Hanging out with kids is a good way to practise! Our six year old is talkative ańd a good "teacher".
    -Learn about and experience nature and (outdoor) life in Lapland. Taste our nice food! You may also learn some about the sami culture, since this area has a relatively large sami population.
    -Be part of a Swedish family's life for a while, and get to know our beautiful area!

  • Help

    Help

    General household work. Being an extra helping hand and company in our daily life.

    The daily help we need might include:
    Cooking dinner the days you are working.
    Washing up afterwards.
    Clearing and cleaning up the house.
    Snow shovelling.
    Shop food.
    Do the laundry.

    It is a plus if you have experience in taking care of kids, are self-going and see what needs to be done, and like nature in remote areas.

    Some days there will be more to do and some less!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swedish, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    When we stay in Jokkmokk, you will have your own room and internet access, and share the rest with us.

    In the mountain village, we have a house with plenty of space, with forest surrounding the house, and rivers and mountain trails nearby. You will have your own room with internet access, and share the rest with us.

    Note: As you stay in our house with us, it is an advantage if you are used to, or don't mind, the 'buzz' of having children around most of the time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    - One week evaluation time.

    - Non smokers only.

    -Not suitable for vegetarians.

    - Minimum age 18 years.

    You must be happy to entertain yourself on your spare time. If you like hiking, we can lend you outdoor equipment/skis etc if you would like going on your own adventures.

    -You must be happy being on your own at times as we only host one volunteer at the time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 15 hours with 2 days off - no food











Host ref number: 868824132829