Help needed in our riverside garden near Cognac, France

Country

France

Favourited 42 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Allie and Brian. Allie is a beauty therapist and runs a salon from home, Brian is a pianist for weddings and local venues. Our three children are all grown up, so we are ‘home alone.’

    We have a beautiful riverside property just outside Cognac in France. It was built in 1840 as the ferryman’s cottage and after 10 years of hard graft, we have now almost completely restored it.

    We are lucky enough to have lovely riverside and countryside walks just on our doorstep and we are just a 5 minute cycle ride from our local Boulangerie and bar/restaurant, a waterski school and kayak hire.

    I cycle regularly into our nearest market town of Jarnac to buy the local produce... There is so much good food, wine and Cognac to choose from in this lovely part of France!

    We are both keen cyclists and vegans. Brian is the main cook and he enjoys producing interesting vegan meals using recipes from around the world.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are an English couple living in France. If you aren’t English we can help you to learn the language and if you would also like to learn a little French, we can teach you the basics.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone who can help point stone walls using traditional methods.

    We also need someone strong who is willing to dig and mix up ciment.

    We could also do with additional help in the garden preparing a vegetable patch and doing general gardening jobs.

    We'd ideally like someone with building experience and the volunteer must be happy to get a bit messy and not mind hard manual work.

    The occasional dog/house sitting service.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A bedroom in the house or outbuilding.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a waterski school just 5 mins away and loads if great cycle paths. We can provide bikes. There is a train station 5k away in Jarnac which has trains running every day that take you to the coast or to cognac, Angouleme, Bordeaux and many more destinations.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 867693444699