Help us create an organic farm on the border of Spain in Mosteiros, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 4 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/11/2022

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi my name is Roman, I am a 42 year old semi retired English teacher. I live on the border with Spain and Portugal.

    I brought a small disused farm last year and need help setting it up. The farm was disused since 2016 and there are lots of things that need fixing. However, we have a warm house with hot water, 3 bedrooms and a huge kitchen. In my opinion the best thing her is that we have a gym in the house. The house also has Internet and lots of parking if you have a car or camper van.

    I live right on the border with Spain and Portugal. I can walk to the border from my house. Where I live in really beautiful and it is so peaceful here. The capital of the province is only 20 minutes drive from me.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Down the road from us there are natural pools and waterfalls ( 3 - 5 minutes in the car )
    We have never built a farm before so I guess we will all be learning as we work together.
    We are on the boarder of Spain and Portugal so there are so many places to explore.
    We are surrounded by 4 big towns all within an hour and some as close as 15 minutes away.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I am rebuilding a old farm, the house is find but I need help with the land and the walls of my land as they have collapsed.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am an semi retired English teacher and I want to learn Portuguese as well so I am very happy to exchange languages.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Free Accommodation: A private double bedroom with internet access and wardrobe. All very nice, the bed is super comfortable.

    Free Food: We will provide your food.

    Entertainment: We have 200 channels of TV if that is your thing, we also have a gym in the house with machines and weights. There is internet in the house as well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The village is tiny with only 300 people, there are natural swimming pools and waterfalls 10 minutes by walking from the house. So many people go there and swim in the day, it is really nice.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The room has a desk and a chair. We have internet here and if you are living the laptop life come stay with us.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have two fields. I have so much space so yes this is not a problem. We can hook you up with water and power as well.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Maybe you can bring your pet, we have 4 cats so lets chat able this before you arrive.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 866965495683