Help us make nice some yurts + land, and enjoy surfing the waves of El Palmar, Spain

  • Spain
  • Favourited 167 times
  • Last activity: 5 Jun 2023



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    Hi :)

    We are Marina and Callum. Marina is Spanish and Cal is English. We are recently married and we are in our 30s. We also have a water dog named Comet whom we adore.

    We are friendly easy going people, although Marina is currently quite busy finishing university, so it is me, Callum whom you will spend most of your time with (lucky you!!).

    We both love surfing and this place is the perfect base to do so with sunny, warm and lovely waves. You are more than welcome to join us whenever we get in the water.
    We also have surfing gear for you to use for free :)

    There are also great routes for road cycling and gravel biking.
    Oh! Cal is also a great photographer so you will have loads of memories of your time here ;)

    We would love to learn any skills you might have. We only just started with this project and are we are willing to hear your ideas and learn from you abilities!!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We LOVE surfing. So when there is a swell you'll find us in the water and you are more than welcome to join us or just do whatever you feel like. We are not strict at all about when to work. Quite flexible.

    Marina loves cooking and will teach you about Spanish food and about desserts from all around the world (she loves baking).
    Marina also loves music.
    You'll hear English and Spanish so you'll be able to practice both.

    Callum has grown up around bikes. So he can teach you anything you want about them.
    He is also an amazing photographer so you'll be able to learn about that too, and to take home amazing memories captured by him.

  • Help


    We just bought a lovely piece of land in la Costa de la Luz, a stunningly beautiful corner of the world where Europe meets Africa and we need some help with it :)

    This is a PRIVATE project and you won't be doing any dangerous tasks or anything related to business or comercial activities!

    The land is 7000m2 contains 4 Mongolian yurts, a wooden cabin that houses the common kitchen, bathrooms for those yurts, and a Andalusian style 2 bedroom house.

    The land and yurts both need some love; we only just bought it and it’s been left relatively wild, although the house is ready to live in.

    NOTE: we will be doing all of theses tasks TOGETHER with you. Always.

    The jobs are:

    -Gardening (we need someone to teach us about permaculture, please!)
    - Clearing + landscaping to make the land look nice.
    -Organizing the back of the house
    - Plumbing on both house and wooden cabin
    - Ideas to improve the water system in order to collect more rain water.
    - General cleaning and tidying.
    - Creating a veggie garden.

    We need: handy people w/ woodwork knowledge is a plus :)

    We still need handy people who have good vibes and who are willing to share adventures, beers or a glass of wine and experiences. (Great for surfers as well!)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Cal is English and will be happy to teach you his language. He also speaks Spanish so he can teach you both! Marina is Spanish and will talk to you in whatever you prefer: English or Spanish!

  • Accommodation


    You will sleep in a yurt :)

    As for food, we provide breakfast and lunch 4/5 days a week but cooking preparation and cleaning is shared. Note: we don’t have a dishwasher ;)
    Our area is quite rural so we have to be a careful with water consumption.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It would be ideal if you brought your bike or car. Public transport is very limited so you’d need your own car/bike.

    As we mentioned before, surfing is big around and so is windsurfing and kitesurfing.
    You can cycle and walk around la Breña natural park and taking walks along the beach and the trafalgar lighthouse..

    You could also go horse riding or visit the white villages around which are stunningly beautiful.
    This area is known for its cheap food and incredibly high quality tuna. So, if you like eating well and fairly cheap this is the place to be.

    Our neighbor always has Workawayers so you will meet a lot of interesting people. There is always something to do!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is a small parking in the property, but I wouldn't sleep there. You can sleep in a Yurt.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We'll have to chat about it as we have a dog and they would have to get along!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 days/week

Host ref number: 763394713853

Feedback (2)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Learn about permaculture and bio-construction, helping our family in Monachil, Spain
Help at a permaculture, Yoga, Meditation, (raw)-vegan Finca in the mountains near Malaga, Spain