Come and help me with renovation projects and explore the area, Kutna Hora, Czech Republic



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    I am female, a long time British expat who just turned 40. A Private Detective by way of a day job and a painter, creator, upcycler, artist and carpenter the rest of the time. I'll give most things a go DIY wise and am quite capable if not always competent! But I enjoy learning... Usually by trial and error..:-)
    The type of help I need centers mainly around the renovation of the property, so electricians, plasterers, builders, plumbers are all required. The garden is a complete state and so asking for gardeners may be an inaccurate description as the garden needs completely clearing of old building materials and copious amounts of weeds before it can even be called a garden.
    There are also various other job relating to painting/decorating and as I am a creative type, some help with whatever project(s) I have ongoing at the time, which can vary from making anything from a mosaic wall to a beaded lampshade. There is lots of work to be done so come and get stuck in!
    Update: Due to the time of year, all work related to gardening right now! I am currently looking for house/cat sitters for 3 weeks at the beginning of August. Thank you

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Help around the house
  • Help


    I am adding a note here at the beginning that I have had a number of great work away people come to stay. Right now my profile has a very low rating because I had a serious accident and then was very sick for a long time and so I was not responding to anything and so my rating dropped. Don't worry though! I'm back online now!!Thanks for understanding :-D So....
    I bought a big old house. I live here with my senior cat Jem. My family live in different countries and as my Dad is turning 80 in January and has cancer, I would like to go to him this Christmas but I need someone to come and stay and look after Jem for me while I am away.
    The location is rural and very quiet with regular buses to nearby towns and local shops located approx 2km away. There is a railway station in the town that you can easily jump on a train to visit other nearby towns such as Kutna Hora famous for its bone church and a very popular tourist destination. Do some shopping in Pardubice or go for lunch in Kolin. It's rural but very easy to visit other places from here. Public transportation work very well! You can have access to a bike also (my friend would lend me a second bike of required!) if you fancy doing that as there are lots of cycle paths around and the forest is also nearby.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Czech: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    The house has 5 bedrooms so there is plenty of space. You will have your own private room in the house with internet access. The bathroom has a nice heated floor and there is a wood burning stove for cosy evenings. I have a huge terrace overlooking the countryside and big glass doors so you can always enjoy the beautiful view.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Quiet rural location with a market town accessible by bus (7km)
    Famous and historic town of Kutna Hora (20 minutes away by car) where there is the famous "Bone Church" and St Barbara's Cathedral. They will also sell you a cup of local wine there which is worth sampling! Prague is accessible by train (one hour) There is a forest a few km away.
    A local shop is 1.5km in one direction and in the other direction a village with everything from a fresh fruit and veg store to hardware, pharmacy, well stocked local shop, gas station open until ten..It's rural here but we have everything and it is easily accessible.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Just to keep an eye on my senior cat

Host ref number: 448553454282

Feedback (2)



Help a dog training facility in Zaříčany, Czech Republic
Help at an innovative community primary school in Ostrožská Nová Ves, Czech Republic