Help with my new home and family - Leicestershire, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 215 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

  • Description


    Hi I'm Lydya and I have been helping at a Hare Krishna Farm for over 5 years. I have been going there regularly to do the Ox-cart rides on some Sundays and sometimes some farm work with the Oxen -harrowing or Muck-carting, I also give tours of the farm and also cover for the cow nurse. I am vegetarian, and have become a Hare Krishna follower over the last 10 years,so I would love to host another Hare Krishna follower, so we can encourage each other and sit down and read Krishna book or Bhagavad Gita together. I am in my 50's, half French and half Polish (I speak some of both languages) and lived most of my life in England so English is my 1st language.

    I have a vegetarian diet in my house, meaning no meat, fish or eggs. I would like anyone who is interested in a more Spiritual way of life to apply and as I live in a small bungalow, only single persons, thank you.

    I live in a small town where there is a canal and good access to the countryside and about 1 hr train ride away from London. I share an allotment where I have lots of strawberry and raspberry plants. I am involved with my local Transition Town group, have a share in the community Apple Press and do Tai-chi and Bhakti yoga.

    I will need some help with my Dad and aunt, gardening, cleaning and some cooking. We will usually go to them at the weekend about 1hr journey, in the Suburb of Birmingham.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our exchange hopefully will be mutually beneficial to help each other to live a happier, healthier life and to especially to continue remembering Krishna (God) which will in turn help our love of all beings and Mother earth.

  • Help


    I need help in several areas, in my home, with sorting, organizing, cleaning, DIY, gardening and help with the computer.
    I also need help with my Dad and Aunt -, cleaning, gardening and some cooking.

    Then I would like help with using the computer helping to protect cows, making cards, leaflets and working on ideas to interest people in Cow Protection. So I need someone who is very flexible, who likes to do different things.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Polish

  • Accommodation


    I live in a bungalow, you will have your own bedroom and I will sleep on my sofa-bed in the lounge. I can take a single person who is vegetarian, and who can cook vegetarian food. As I am trying to lead a more spiritual life with Krishna(God) as my focus, I cannot accept anyone smoking, drinking alcohol, or taking drugs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I look forward to working with people who would like to live a more Spiritual way of life and learn about different ways of self-sufficiency, permaculture, farming, transitioning and sustainability.
    I live in a small town where there is a canal nearby and access to the countryside and about 1hr train ride away from London. Other nearby places to visit are Birmingham, Nottingham, Leicester.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours 5 days including weekends if possible

At the farm
Me and Dharma
Me and Gautam
At the allotment
Walking the dogs
Home town

Host ref number: 866172654777